We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Tarrant's Cafe

Tarrant's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Tarrant's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,607 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N. Foushee
Description: Tarrant's Cafe is situated in the Richmond Old and Historic District. It was an important corner bringing drugstore services to nearby residents for over eighty years spanning the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. 130 years later this building is bringing neighborhood service to Richmond’s community with an upscale but affordable restaurant: Tarrants Cafe.
Durham, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My partner and I were driving back to Ontario from the south and decided to spend a night in Richmond. Receptionist at Linden Row Inn recommended Tarrant's just a short walk away. A varied menu, hard to make a choice. My partner had tuna that was cooked right and tasted great but cut was not just 100% quality, they offered to cook a second and made it right ... other items appetizer dessert good. Staff were very busy but provided A1 service and the decor was interesting. Wish we had a Tarrant's close to home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justme4844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    346
    88
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This restaurant lives up to the Hype!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

As I read the reviews last week and visited RVA, I was excited about my visit to this restaurant and was pleasantly surprised. It is located on the Main drag off Broad Street and the surrounding area is sketchy at best but as soon as you walk thru the door, you are greeted with warm smiles and Southern charm. I was in a mood for breakfast despite the fact it was about 2PM but read good reviews about their omelettes so ordered the Farmers Omelette stuffed literally with bacon, ham,mushrooms, onions,peppers and cheese and it was so hearty that I could finish it. I also ordered a delicious bowl of she-crab soup and was warned it was a big bowl and indeed, it was. They give you fruit,english muffin and home fries with your omelette and lastly, I ordered their cheese stone milled grits and they were divine and probably my favorite part of the meal. The prices are a little steep but it was definitely worth a visit and will give Mcleans a ride for their money. The women were so friendly and helpful and a few of the waitresses complimented my outfit since I was dressed for a day of shopping!

I'll definitely return to this joint because they have such a wide variety of food from burgers to sandwiches to breakfast to bbq and many other Southern delicacies that us Yankees don't get a chance to savor on a daily basis. You definitely should not judge a book by its cover until you have eaten at this place. It should have been featured on Man vs. Food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SmilingSteve4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Vibe - Great Service”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Dinner with friends - a great location in Downtown Richmond. Great food selection. Wait staff was very attentive and quick on all accounts. If you have guests from out of town, this is a great place to bring them for a classy meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Walked in around five without a reservation. Seated immediately. Plenty of 20-30-somethings as staff, and the soundtrack featured Crosby, Martin, Sinatra, Armstrong, etc. KILLER!

I asked the waitress for her favs. She recommended Shrimp & Grits. Being from the Pacific NW, grits are completely foreign. Have no fear, that Southern belle knew her eats. The grits were completed with corn, bell peppers, onions, tomatoes, and perhaps other goodies. Everything was tied together with a very tasty red sauce. Hot and yummy!!!

For dessert, she mentioned the crime brûlée. Served with a sliced strawberry, I was in heaven. This restaurant is a gem. Eat HERE!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Townsend_Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Reviews are Right - Great Place”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Traveling from Maryland to points south frequently has us driving near Richmond around lunch time. Instead of the typical fast food off an exit we decided to go with Trip advisor reviews and landed at Tarrant's Café in downtown Richmond. It was my first time in Richmond and the area around Tarrant's did not seem conducive to a high quality restaurant. But stepping inside felt like a completely different world. This old fashion pharmacy converted to upscale restaurant emanated southern charm.
Not only was our food wonderful, but every dish they brought out looked amazing. I had trouble keeping my eyes off the table of whoever was being served. I had the Ruben-like pastrami sandwich (The Rachel) which had the perfect proportions of meat, Cole slaw and dressing. The sweet potato fries were fresh and dusted with powdered sugar. My wife had a vegetarian omelet which was well prepared and the plate was loaded with fresh fruit and delicious red potato home fries. My son had an sophisticated Cobb salad and my 8 year old had the child's penne pasta.
All are food was wonderful and again everything they were bringing out looked beautiful. We were there for Sunday brunch and they had multiple variations of Eggs benedict which looked fabulous.
Our cost was about $58 - one interesting note was that the lemonade (which was freshly made and delicious) was $4 per glass while all the other drinks were more the $1.85/glass with refills.
Strongly recommend this place - less than 10 minutes off the exit of rte 95.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GD-Reviewer-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarrant's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tarrant's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing