We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant but they cook their meant like the French (rare)”
Review of Can Can Brasserie

Can Can Brasserie
Ranked #10 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but they cook their meant like the French (rare)”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I ate here with some folks for a business dinner. The food and service were very good. We had reservations on a week night so we were seated quickly. I would recommend this place but watch out for two things. They do not have draft beer (sorry a preference) and they undercook all their beef. A few at our table were appalled by the rareness of their burgers (even though the waiter warned them). I have been to France and they do the same thing (ugly Americans no doubt!). Other than that the place is fun and I would go back if I am in town.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    281
    79
    44
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Another fine Sunday brunch”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A unique Sunday brunch, all the heavy & rich French recipes you could ever want. The Croque Madame is the best of it, lightly grilled and smothered in creamy gravy. There is some lighter fare, but with ever-changing omelets, lobster quiche and Monte Cristo sandwich with maple syrup, it's almost impossible to stick to a diet. Finally, the excellent breads are available for take-out - the apple nut bread is especially well done.

Very crowded inside, closely spaced tables, constantly filled bar seating and a high noise level. But the atmosphere is authentic and comfortable, and works especially well for group visits. Two outdoor patios for the good weather, but hard to get one of the 8 or so tables there.

Service is fairly efficient, even during the peak Sunday morning crowd. Definitely not a drop-in place, though, so be sure to visit their web site to make reservations.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The coffee and bread was very good.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We took a large group of exchange students there this weekend. I had the grilled apple chicken salad and it was okay but very salty. I actually have had apple chicken salad cheaper and better from chain restaurants. My daughter had a grilled cheese which was also fine. The French fries however were very good. The bread they serve with the meal is excellent! The exchange students bought several extra loaves to take with them. Our exchange student had a fish meal which she also said was just okay. They best part was my French pressed coffee!!! They did a good job handling such a large group. One word of caution when ordering the hamburgers...if you want it completely cooked make that VERY clear. All the hamburgers ordered had very pink centers!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“RETURN TRIP WARRANTED!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I went to Can Can 7-8 years ago and had not been back, not because I did not enjoy it, because I could not find anyone to go with me. However, my husband and I were looking for somewhere different from our usual haunts to eat. He knows I love Paris, so suggested we go to Can Can for dinner.
We loved everything about this dining experience. The restaurant's staff, the ambience, the food, the waitstaff, the menu, etc.
We were seated at a table in the front of the restaurant, with the attentive waitstaff properly dressed and the sounds of chatter, music and food being served, I imagined myself in Paris for a few brief moments.
We both ordered the French Onion Soup and enjoyed it. My husband double-ordered the scallop appetizer as his entrée and stated they were some of the best he had tasted recently. I had the Grilled Salmon with Ginger Sauce which was prepared to perfection, medium as I had requested. We will be returning to Can Can and taking friends with us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uvadelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great dining on Cary Street”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Historic building with a wall of window that they open in the fine weather...like sitting outside, only better. Lovely menu and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amm4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Can Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Can Can Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing