We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly delicious and authentic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Can Can Brasserie

Can Can Brasserie
Ranked #11 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazingly delicious and authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is the third time we've been to CanCan and it never disappoints. The flavors of each plate were distinct and delicious, exuding the care and commitment of the chef. Now if only they could train their staff to speak French, we really would be in Paris for a night:))

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Parisa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    256
    70
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just terrible service...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

After having an amazing dinner at MBistro, we decided that we wanted to stop at Can Can for after dinner drinks and dessert. When we walked in, the hostess just stared at us and didn't say anything. I had to ask if we could sit for desserts and she rolled her eyes at us, and took us to a table. After we were seated she went to our waitress and told her we only wanted desserts, I could see them rolling their eyes and talking about us. It was so uncomfortable. I don't even want to get in to the rest of our time at this restaurant. What a disappointing way to finish a great night. Great food but terrible service...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodieintown85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went to Can Can on a sunday morning in March. Was my 1st time there for brunch. It was reasonably priced and very good. The bread you start with is so tasty that i ordered some to take home. Feels like nyc in this richmond establishment. The service was great and so was the food and atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kizzy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ditto the French vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

All the elements of classic French cuisine-velvety pâté, superb bread and butter, coq au vin with veggies, raspberry soufflé like a cloud. Service attentive plus. For a graduation weekend, even more impressive. We continue in our good experience here, thank you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Like Being in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

You walk into Can Can Brasserie and you feel as if you are in a cafe in Paris. Great decor. But even more important the food is terrific. Wonderful bread that is baked at the cafe. Dishes are well prepared and delicious--just hard to decide what to order. Great lunch specials and good soup/salad and sandwich combos for lunch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank joeandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Can Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Can Can Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing