We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great food, great atmosphere!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Can Can Brasserie

Can Can Brasserie
Ranked #11 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Great value, great food, great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Their croissant is terrific! Service can be a little on the typical Richmond Rude side, but the atmosphere, food and very reasonable price makes up for it! Can't get better French pastries anywhere in Richmond. That is for sure.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bride2B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    257
    71
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Nice Girls' Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had lunch with my daughter at Can Can this past Saturday. It was lovely. The perfect place for a Girls' lunch. The service was very good, the food was very good. They served a beautiful basket of assorted french breads before the meal and it was wonderful. We each got salads and they were fresh and tasty. It was a bit pricey, but I would go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thegoodlinda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little bit of Paris in the middle of Virginia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My family and I had lunch at Can Can after a recommendation from a friend. We had visited Paris 2 summers ago and this restaurant took us back to all the wonderful bistros that we ate in while in France.

We were unfortunate enough to visit on a day where there was a power outage and therefore was unable to try the moule frites (the fryer was inoperable). However, what we did have was all delicious.

The bread tasted fresh and was nice and crusty. I was surprised when we had to request more bread rather than having it offered.

Despite having no electricity, the dining area was well lit and cool. All the windows were open allowing a nice breeze to circulate and keeping everything cooled off.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Knittingnurse8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dinner Good, Lunch Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had dinner and lunch here. It is a big place so there is a minimal wait, if at all. The dinner and creative drinks were very good. The value comes in at lunch with their fabulous sandwiches and great beers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank billwa506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best on Cary St.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place deserves high marks on ambiance alone. Has the feeling of a Parisian cafe from the 1940's. It has a traditional Zinc bar, one of the longest in the US I believe. Great place to pop in for a coffee or wine and catch up with a friend, or grab a seat at the zinc and order some fries and cold beer.

Probably the biggest secret about Can-Can is that they have the best hamburger in town. A french place, with best hamburger? Yes. They used to do $5 burgers if you ordered at the zinc, but I heard they stopped that. :-( The bun on the burger is the best I have ever had too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Graybeard73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Can Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Can Can Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing