We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE!”

Gelati Celesti Ice Cream Makers
Ranked #2 of 42 Dessert in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“BEWARE!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This innocent looking ice cream shop will spoil every other ice cream experience in your life.
There is a reason that several top-rated restaurants in the area proudly serve Gelati Celesti by name. This ice cream can be addictive because of the seductive flavors and satiny texture. To make the habit even harder to kick, Gelati Celesti also rolls out seasonal flavors, like peppermint (made with peppermint candy bits) at Christmas ...oops, did I say Christmas??? I must have meant Traditional Cold Weather Holiday.
If you are in the shop when the batter is baking for their homemade cones, you are a goner. The prices are reasonable, too. Face it, you're going to get hooked.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    38
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream Around”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Small ice cream shop on W.Broad street. Not alot of room inside so we sat outside at the tables to eat. Ice cream is delicious, creamy and rich, Full of taste. In a day and time where foods dont taste like they should, you can step back to the days when Mom and Dad made the home made ice cream. They use only fresh ingredients. This was my first visit and it wont be my last. Take the family there for a special treat you wont regret it. Staff is friendly and nice ready to assist.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank celticdove61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best ice cream ever!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I don't eat ice cream very often but when I do, this is! delicious and different flavors, generous servings. can't begin to decide which is my favorite - coffee and cream, banana, almond joy, vanilla chip, pumpkin???? Just keep going back ;)

Helpful?
Thank irishspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

BEST place for ice cream! Not overpriced, always delicious. Cute little ice cream parlor still serving it old school and it pays off. They now take credit cards!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theartistinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gelato or ice cream - whatever! Its just plain good.”
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I've been coming to Gelati Celesti since it opened in the 80's. It is the best ice cream around, hands down. If you're looking for good homemade ice cream in almost any flavor you can imagine, come here. If you're a gelato snob, maybe this isn't the place for you. It's great for families or a quick drive-by, just because you've got a craving. This is not fake DQ/Frosty "ice cream". This is the real deal and it's worth the price.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieMaeofMontpelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelati Celesti Ice Cream Makers also viewed

 

Been to Gelati Celesti Ice Cream Makers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing