We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for hotel in Richmond, VA area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed here during a trip to Richmond, VA for new employee orientation at a job I'm moving to the area for. This was a very good hotel to stay at, especially for the price! The room was extremely clean and comfortable (as was the hotel as a whole), the staff was very attentive, polite, friendly & helpful, and it's location was extremely convenient to everywhere I needed to go on my trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph J, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Matthew G,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and happy that you found our location and clean, comfortable guest rooms a great value for the price. Thank your for your compliment regarding our staff. They all take pride in providing great customer service for our guests and I'll be happy to pass on your kind words to them. Thanks again for submitting your review. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joseph Joyce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 639 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stay at Best Westerns whenever we travel and this location was not a disappointment. As mentioned before, it is tucked behind a car wash and easily missed the first time you drive past it. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are large. When the hotel was taken over by Best Western and renovated to their standards they removed all of the luggage racks from the rooms. Call the front desk if you want one - some are available. We had dinner at the Olive Garden - reached by going through the rear parking lot of the hotel. Breakfast in the morning was the standard Best Western fare. The front desk was very helpful in printing some papers for me when their business centre printer wasn't working. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy-Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph J, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Happy-Suzanne,

Thank you so much for your review. I am truly happy that your stay here did not disappoint. We are glad that you were pleased with your stay here with us and thankful that you didn't miss our location. You're right, we are a bit tucked away, and can be easily missed.. but it does turn out to be a good thing when it comes to avoiding noise from the street. Thank your for your compliment regarding the front desk staff. They are great employees who provide great guest service for our guests and can't wait to let them know how they're doing.

Again, than you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Richmond!

Sincerely,

Joseph Joyce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is tucked behind a Asian restaurant and a car wash so it's good to take caution when entering or exiting. The room was large and very clean. I am very picky and OCD about everything having to do with a hotel. I was pleasantly surprise with the quality vs the price. The exposed brick on the inside was a neat touch. The breakfast was good and there was a very nice and accommodating lady there that made sure everything was neat and clean. My only complaint is that none of the workers wear uniforms so its hard to tell who works there even though all were very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiacapz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed at this motel numerous times and will continue to do so every time I travel to the Richmond area. Each stay I have had great customer service, friendly staff. My room is super clean when I arrive and is kept that way every day by housekeeping. I recommend this motel highly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherryruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family spent five nights here during a family reunion. The rooms were quite comfortable, clean, and quiet. We were in the adjunct building on the second floor. Breakfast was average. Watch out for the drivers who sometimes fly out of a nearby car wash and into the motel driveway.

Room Tip: Be aware there's no elevator in the second building so, if you're on the second floor, you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My daughter stayed here in March and said it was clean and friendly. We had two rooms this time and they were clean, but what impressed me the most was the staff. They are all so helpful and friendly. The breakfast bar was good and the service person was readily available if you needed help. I liked that it was away from downtown but there are plenty of restaurants and stores nearby. The pool was very clean and has a handicap power chair.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I recently stayed here with my husband and two children. The room was exceptionally spacious and they remembered our crib. Breakfast was fine, the staff was friendly and the hotel itself was very quiet. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
9.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Governor's Inn

Address: 9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Family Hotel in Richmond
#18 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $88 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Governor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a most Remarkable stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, where Hospitality is second nature to us. Our Friendly Associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in Warm Tones, Rich Woods, and Stone Masonry, the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn creates a Cozy and Welcoming Atmosphere. Whether coming for Business or Pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing