We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Sandston, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here just one nite,a Saturday night and it was very exceptional. The lady at the front desk was polite and very informative. My room was on the first floor across from the dinning area. There was a little bit of bumping upstairs but nothing to complain about. I had a suite with a jacuzzi tub which was nice. There was a nice flat screen tv, HBO cable, internet access, a sofa and very comfortable bed. Everything was great but I wish I would of known about the bar/club on the other end of the building which would explain the traffic and the loud music. Overall the room was clean and comfortable and I would definately return and recommend to others. One of the best rooms I've stayed in!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise from bar and bumping frome upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Lakida C,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Our staff takes pride in the level of service we provide and I'm happy to pass on your compliments to our front desk agent. Thank you for mentioning our clean, comfortable rooms and we are very pleased that you found the amenities to your satisfaction. I sincerely apologize for the disturbance from the bar/club. We are currently taking steps to better inform our guests of the noise potential and we will make sure to have a quieter room for you on your next visit. On a brighter note, we do consider it a huge compliment that you would refer fellow travelers to us and we really appreciate your recommendations. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    162
    47
    15
    17
See reviews for
198
96
30
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

After reading so many excellent reviews from other customers who have stayed at this hotel, I was very disappointed when I arrived at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. The person who greeted me was not enthusiastic and she did not provide a warm welcome. The room was big; however, the hotel is old. The hallways were very wide,but the carpet was stained and there was a stale smell of smoke, even though it was a non-smoking floor. I had dinner at Tripp's, which I highly recommend, Breakfast at the hotel was mediocre. I would not recommend this hotel for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanB2640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
1,088 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Pretty hard to fault this place for a good restful stop and great value at $80 a night ! It is located a fair distance from downtown and in a semi industrial area but it is set back from the main drag and quite. Keep your eyes open for the sign , it creeps up on you !!The rooms are fairly huge and have everything you require. There is a bar/restaurant downstairs but was slow on our two nights but good for a cold beer in seclusion. There were several choices for food nearby, all in walking distance (the Olive Grove was good) and a nearby shopping centre had a great liquor store (Total Wine and More ) and a bar and Chinese ! Great breakfast with a large selection and friendly staff ready to help and advise except for the GM who admitted he hadn't been downtown for twenty years , Shame on You !! Richmond is Great !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

From the warm greeting by general manager, Joseph Joyce, to the large, clean, spacious room, this is a travelers dream. Clean throughout. Comfortable bed. The room is huge: there was enough room to put a dining table in the corner or full size sofa. Flat screen tv. Lots of mirrors. Well done hotel. Joseph recommended Tripps restaurant, and he was right on. Upscale TGIF or Applebees. Ask the desk for a coupon and you'll receive an out of this world spicy shrimp appetizer for free. It's not even on the menu, a special deal for BW customers. The food was great. Quiet atmosphere with nice booths. All in all, we enjoyed this stay!

Room Tip: There are two building, so you probably want to stay in the main building, in the back. The entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Hillary J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your glowing review of our hotel. I am glad that you found your stay here with us pleasurable and we are pleased that you enjoyed the comfort and amenities we have to offer. Our housekeeping staff prides itself on providing clean, spacious rooms for our guests and we truly appreciate your remarks. I am happy that we were able to provide you with a first-rate guest experience and we thank you for the recommendation.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joseph Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Like several other reviewers, we had difficulty finding the entrance (it's a driveway between the shopping center and an Asian restaurant). We chose this property based on other reviews and affordable prices. The rooms are large, clean and well-appointed. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We plan to return in the Spring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear David B,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad you eventually found us (..as we are a little off the beaten path..) and we're pleased that you found your stay with us enjoyable and the amenities to your satisfaction. Thank you for mentioning our clean and spacious rooms; we pride ourselves on our ability to provide comfortable accommodations for our guests. I'm also happy to pass on your compliments to our front desk staff. We're delighted to be considered "a hidden gem" in your book. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit in the spring.


Sincerely,

Joseph Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the villages florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was a bit difficult to find the entrance to the motel, but once found a very nice stay Breakfast was also not the most available,the biscuits and gravy did not look too welcoming. The people that checked us in and out were very nice.



  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank NANCY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ignace MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very clean, reasonably priced, friendly staff, excellent location for my needs. Have stayed there numerous times in the past. My intention is to return again in January for one or two nights and most likely again in April.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank BILLYTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
10.7 mi away
HYATT House Richmond-West
HYATT House Richmond-West
#5 of 83 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Address: 9826 Midlothian Tpke, Richmond, VA 23235-4812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Family Hotel in Richmond
#18 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a most Remarkable stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, where Hospitality is second nature to us. Our Friendly Associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in Warm Tones, Rich Woods, and Stone Masonry, the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn creates a Cozy and Welcoming Atmosphere. Whether coming for Business or Pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing