We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Like several other reviewers, we had difficulty finding the entrance (it's a driveway between the shopping center and an Asian restaurant). We chose this property based on other reviews and affordable prices. The rooms are large, clean and well-appointed. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We plan to return in the Spring.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph J, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear David B,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad you eventually found us (..as we are a little off the beaten path..) and we're pleased that you found your stay with us enjoyable and the amenities to your satisfaction. Thank you for mentioning our clean and spacious rooms; we pride ourselves on our ability to provide comfortable accommodations for our guests. I'm also happy to pass on your compliments to our front desk staff. We're delighted to be considered "a hidden gem" in your book. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit in the spring.


Sincerely,

Joseph Joyce
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 639 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was a bit difficult to find the entrance to the motel, but once found a very nice stay Breakfast was also not the most available,the biscuits and gravy did not look too welcoming. The people that checked us in and out were very nice.



  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank NANCY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very clean, reasonably priced, friendly staff, excellent location for my needs. Have stayed there numerous times in the past. My intention is to return again in January for one or two nights and most likely again in April.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank BILLYTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently stays at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn in Richmond, VA and we were pleasantly surprised with the stay! When we walked into our room we were amazed at the sizeof the room. It was enormous! The room was extremely clean, including the bathroom. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast including eggs, biscuits and gravy, waffles, and much, much more! The location was very convenient and yet it was slightly off the road, so no traffic noise to deal with. There was lots of exposed brick in the hallways which was very beautiful and charming.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I hae stayed in many hotels but this one was a great surprise to me. The decor of the hotel was outstanding --very historical like Richmond and Williamsburg. The rooms are furnished in the same decor and make you feel cozy and protected in Richmond. Joe and his staff are so wonderful. Whenever I call they try to accomodate my needs whether I call a week in advance or the same day. It is a pleasure staying there and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet,peaceful, cozy place to rest. The beds were huge and comfortable and everything in the room was spotless. It is a well-lit facility and you can park right in front of your room. i can't say enough about how safe I feel when I am there. I really appreciate Joe and how sensitive he is to the guest's needs and wants. It is a great place.!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the other building with the pool are quieter and cozier. They are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was close to whom I was visiting in Richmond. What a surprise I got
When I finally arrived. A beautiful lobby with brick walls and moldings in the ceiling,but the best
thing was that my room in the annex on the first floor had a bay window brick walls and a ceiling
like the lobby. The room was very quite the mattress just the way I like them. Secure entrance to
building and room. The breakfast couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed in hotels all across the country, int his chain and others, and this one was a wonderful find in so many ways. I loved the great brick walls in our room, and it was perfectly, completely clean. The beds were comfortable, and unlike so many places today, you didn't feel squished into a little box. What stood out most of all, however, was the wonderful attitude of the staff. Everyone was welcoming and nice. I knew I found a jewel when the Houseman offered help when I was cleaning up a mess in my car trunk (thank you Sam)! You can't go wrong if you stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMUGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
11.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
9.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Governor's Inn

Address: 9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Family Hotel in Richmond
#18 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $88 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Governor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a most Remarkable stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, where Hospitality is second nature to us. Our Friendly Associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in Warm Tones, Rich Woods, and Stone Masonry, the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn creates a Cozy and Welcoming Atmosphere. Whether coming for Business or Pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing