We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicestay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
the villages florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nicestay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was a bit difficult to find the entrance to the motel, but once found a very nice stay Breakfast was also not the most available,the biscuits and gravy did not look too welcoming. The people that checked us in and out were very nice.



  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank NANCY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    149
    42
    14
    15
See reviews for
180
83
28
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Ignace MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very clean, reasonably priced, friendly staff, excellent location for my needs. Have stayed there numerous times in the past. My intention is to return again in January for one or two nights and most likely again in April.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank BILLYTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently stays at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn in Richmond, VA and we were pleasantly surprised with the stay! When we walked into our room we were amazed at the sizeof the room. It was enormous! The room was extremely clean, including the bathroom. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast including eggs, biscuits and gravy, waffles, and much, much more! The location was very convenient and yet it was slightly off the road, so no traffic noise to deal with. There was lots of exposed brick in the hallways which was very beautiful and charming.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I hae stayed in many hotels but this one was a great surprise to me. The decor of the hotel was outstanding --very historical like Richmond and Williamsburg. The rooms are furnished in the same decor and make you feel cozy and protected in Richmond. Joe and his staff are so wonderful. Whenever I call they try to accomodate my needs whether I call a week in advance or the same day. It is a pleasure staying there and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet,peaceful, cozy place to rest. The beds were huge and comfortable and everything in the room was spotless. It is a well-lit facility and you can park right in front of your room. i can't say enough about how safe I feel when I am there. I really appreciate Joe and how sensitive he is to the guest's needs and wants. It is a great place.!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the other building with the pool are quieter and cozier. They are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tapr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was close to whom I was visiting in Richmond. What a surprise I got
When I finally arrived. A beautiful lobby with brick walls and moldings in the ceiling,but the best
thing was that my room in the annex on the first floor had a bay window brick walls and a ceiling
like the lobby. The room was very quite the mattress just the way I like them. Secure entrance to
building and room. The breakfast couldn't be better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed in hotels all across the country, int his chain and others, and this one was a wonderful find in so many ways. I loved the great brick walls in our room, and it was perfectly, completely clean. The beds were comfortable, and unlike so many places today, you didn't feel squished into a little box. What stood out most of all, however, was the wonderful attitude of the staff. Everyone was welcoming and nice. I knew I found a jewel when the Houseman offered help when I was cleaning up a mess in my car trunk (thank you Sam)! You can't go wrong if you stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMUGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Comfortable, clean room with brick wall accents and trayed ceiling. It was nice to have a room that did not look like an office cubicle. Everything in the room worked, the carpet was clean, and all the edges and corners had been dusted. The hallways were clean and well lit. Parking was ample and convenient. Good suburban location with lots of nearby restaurants and shopping centers. The only minor issue -- and this is a comment, not a complaint -- is that the hotel sits off the main road. This minimizes highway noise (a plus!), but it's hard to find the entrance driveway, especially if you are arriving headed toward downtown (going northeast). The Best Western sign is small and low -- difficult to see from the opposite side of the road.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main (lobby) wing can get some bass music noise from the club/bar. Ask for rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmnp_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel
7.8 mi away
No photo provided
10.7 mi away
HYATT House Richmond-West
HYATT House Richmond-West
#5 of 88 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Address: 9826 Midlothian Tpke, Richmond, VA 23235-4812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#11 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
#19 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a most Remarkable stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, where Hospitality is second nature to us. Our Friendly Associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in Warm Tones, Rich Woods, and Stone Masonry, the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn creates a Cozy and Welcoming Atmosphere. Whether coming for Business or Pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing