We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Reasonable price, clean and comfortable, continental breakfast a plus!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Reasonable price, clean and comfortable, continental breakfast a plus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My mother and I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting family. Very clean rooms, nice front desk staff, very accommodating. Nice outdoor pool, breakfast was very nice. Lots of choices, 4 cereals, oatmeal, toast, bagels, English muffins muffins, biscuits, belgian waffles, bananas and apples every day. Additional hot items varied from day to day, gravy, scrambled eggs alternated with "little round eggs" and sausage for a breakfast sandwich. Of course, coffee and juice. The lady that was in the breakfast room as the hostess was very efficient and friendly, she was a real energizer bunny!

Close enough to walk to Olive Garden, New Marshal's will open soon, already an A.C. Moore store and Stein Mart.

I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are two buildings. We stayed in the one where the pool is. It has two floors and there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! I also appreciate your kind words regarding my staff. They all take pride in rewarding guests with exemplary customer service. By the way the "Energizer Bunny's" name is Penny!
Thank you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    145
    39
    14
    15
See reviews for
170
78
26
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect from this Best Western, because their properties can be so different. This one seemed to be an older hotel remodeled and updated. It consists of two brick buildings that look very "Colonial".
The King "suite" was spacious but had a small bathroom. It was the old style with the sink inside the bathroom. Worked fine for guys, but might not work as well with ladies. The room had a microwave and refrigerator.
The breakfast was a step up from the usual Continental breakfast. We had scrambled eggs and sausage gravy one morning, and eggs and sausage the next. The rest of the bar included the usual waffle-maker, cereal, bagels, yogurt, fruit, etc. The service at the breakfast was very good. The ladies seemed to take pride in their work.
I would recommend it to anyone staying overnight or for a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddyP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Very average Best Western fare although the outdoor pool was a bonus during the heat wave. I must congratulate the hotel management on agreeing to change our room when we found that the one allocated had been used by a NOT PERMITTED smoker! the hotel is supposed to be non smoking and a previous guest had violated the rules much to the despair of the owner.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I was not sure about this hotel being that it is a Best Western, I have had some bad experiences with Best Westerns in the past, but this hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was nice and the free breakfast was nice, for being free. I have no complaints and would stay here again. It's not a new hotel,a little dated, but I thought it was very quaint. The bed was new and there were plenty of pillows. The price is very good for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We arrived in Richmond, Va on May 22nd unannounced and were extended a room after 10:00 pm with a very fair nightly rate. The hotel was nice and clean with very large rooms. The only issue that need addressing is that the TV was small in size and difficult to enjoy as far as it sat away from the beds, but outside of that, all else was a thumbs up.

A. Mapp

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was one of the cleanest motels I have stayed in. Everyday my room was well cared for. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone traveling in the Richmond area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherryruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights while my dad was in the VA Hospital having surgery. I can't say enough about the friendliness and the helpfullness of the staff. From the breakfast lady to the housekeeping and front desk. We will be back soon to the area and will definately stay here again!!

Room Tip: Don't pass this gem up!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genieinabottle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel
8.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
11.0 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Address: 9826 Midlothian Tpke, Richmond, VA 23235-4812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#11 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
#19 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a most Remarkable stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, where Hospitality is second nature to us. Our Friendly Associates are always available to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Tastefully furnished in Warm Tones, Rich Woods, and Stone Masonry, the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn creates a Cozy and Welcoming Atmosphere. Whether coming for Business or Pleasure, you will enjoy your stay at the Best Western Plus Governor's Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Best Western + Iniative, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Governor`s Hotel Richmond
Best Western Governors Hotel
Best Western Richmond
Richmond Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing