We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Nearby Hotels
$89
$84
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Linden Row Inn(Richmond)
$176
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$235
$189
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$107
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Jefferson Hotel(Richmond)
$275
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Richmond Hotel(Richmond)
$171
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveler rating
344
206
61
24
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
206
61
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar washsecond buildingfront deskmidlothian turnpikebreakfast roommake your own wafflesan older hotelgreat place to stayrichmond areacomfortable roomscomplimentary breakfaststay there againyogurtcoffee makerfirst floornice stayroom was large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
594 - 599 of 656 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This Hotel is strange. It looks like a Castle in some parts (complete with bars across the dining area entrance). Wax figures. Very friendly staff. Couldn't get access to wireless in room, staff offered to move us. Clean, older rooms. Very spacious. Good hearty breakfast included. Free parking. Would come again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallahassee_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have historically enjoyed stays in Best Westerns which is why I chose this one. I made the wrong decision.

There are two buildings with rooms. I can only speak for the building behind the main one.

Observations:
- While there is an elevator in the main building there are no elevators in the back building. This is something they fail to mention.
- My room was hot and muggy on arrival, the air was turned off and made the room smell very unpleasant.
- When the internet broke, the front desk instructed ME to call the help desk to try and fix it. Customers should NOT be required to fix hotel problems.
- Business center was out of paper and the printer was broken.

This was by far my worst Best Western experience ever.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone though...at least not the 2nd building.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a room in the back building!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyHerAway_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Joyce, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thank you for your response. I always appreciate both positive as well as negative feedback as it gives us an opportunity to make necessary adjustments. Regarding your experience with our high speed internet; I have implemented a new procedure for my front desk staff. I agree that the burden of calling tech support should not be the responsibility of the guest. Now the front desk agent will call the support number and after a technician is on the line, we transfer them to the guests room. So far guests have been very pleased as we make a follow up call to insure they have connected. We are also currently working with Best Western on a way to notify potential guests of the lack of an elevator in our annex building. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here on April 11 and had a good experience. The decor is quite rustic. The room was quiet and clean. The Wi-Fi worked well. Our family of four felt that we had plenty of room. We liked the pillows a lot better here than at the hotel we stayed at the previous night in another city. The breakfast was better than we were expecting and the attendant worked hard to keep items stocked and fresh. The location of the hotel is very central to shopping, restaurants, etc. It is set back off the main road, so it is quiet and tucked-away. It was a very good value and we'd stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennisfamily13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Clean spacious rooms, very friendly staff, real breakfast included free

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Joyce, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Thank you very much for your response. I truly believe that our staff is our GREATEST amenity! We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast,and again, thank you for your response. We hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Booked this hotel on Hotels.com and received a fair rate. Booked 4 rooms for an 8 guy golf getaway. The rooms are a little dated but clean and big. The free breakfast was the usual scambled eggs, waffles, toast, cereal fair. Overall I would recommend the hotel for families, guy/girl weekends but not for a romatic getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Joyce, General Manager at Best Western Plus Governor's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. I hope that you enjoyed your golf tournament as well as our property. The size of our rooms are large in comparison to a lot of other hotels. The gentelman who designed this property had that in mind. We hope that the next time you are in the Richmond area you will choose us again. And again, thank you for staying with us as well as your time to submit your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews