We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Breakfast, small room, low end for Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Albany NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor Breakfast, small room, low end for Marriott”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

No big complaints. We checked in very late after a 12 hour road trip. The staff were fine. There was coffee and tea available. No juice except in the morning. If we had been traveling with kids this may have been a issue. No place to purchase something to eat or drink.

Have not stayed in Fairfield Inns recently so maybe this is PAR for the course but the breakfast had nothing hot except for some not too appetizing microwavable things, room was nice with large TV but a bit small.

Usually stay at other Marriott brands. Will probably not stay there again. Would recommend if other options not available but OK if budget is an issue.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    83
    27
    10
    1
See reviews for
75
47
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We originally booked at a Ramada. What a disaster. We traveled to Richmond for a week long baseball tournament. The whole team decided to switch to the Fairfield last minute due to the crappy Ramada conditions. Wow, what a surprise! Super clean, comfortable, and friendly. You could smell the cleanliness as soon as you walk into the lobby. There was always someone cleaning the place. The breakfast was simple but adequate. Free Wi-Fi! This was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfrankurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
915 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This was just what I needed for my trip. It was right off 64 which I needed to take early in the morning to Monticello in Charlottesville (55 miles away). It was clean, welcoming and gave a hearty breakfast. Don't get your hopes up about the pool though. Very small and murky. Completely overrun by kids the second night I was there. First night I had it to myself. Lounge chairs just outside are surprisingly pleasant considering they overlook an empty parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flaneur40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This hotel is adequate, and as other reviewers have mentioned, priced $10-20 below other comparable hotels in the area. It is a newer hotel, but starting to show some signs of wear. I would not recommend it for more than a one night stay. The rooms are small and the half wall between the "living room" and bedroom made it feel cramped even for two adults. The beds are not very comfortable, very little padding to the mattress. We skipped breakfast and ate at the Cracker Barrel which shares the same parking lot -- a good breakfast option. It is also not very close to the best shopping area, Short Pump. I would recommend staying closer to the Short Pump area if you are planning a stop in Richmond.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

--general clean look and friendly atmosphere, VERY
well-managed

--excellent breakfast for a motel, at least for east
coast, made-to-order waffles (note: not self-serve,
though could be), cereal, muffins, fresh fruit, microwave
quiche, hard-boiled eggs, very friendly staff

--high tech HD TV

--very well maintained

--free wifi

--Radio will connect to mp3 player

--heat/air allows the user to set an exact temperature

--problem: upper dresser drawers seem to roll open on
their own, reported to desk and they put a cake of soap
under the edge of the dresser to tip it back. It looks a
little tacky but solves the problem.

--cookies at front desk in evening

--good ice machine

--no clock in swimming pool

--exercise room

--Fairfield is a very well run chain

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Leeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

My husband, daughter and I stayed at this property while we were in Richmond for a wedding. We got a great rate by booking ahead online at the AAA rate. The hotel offered early check-in, which was a great help to us in getting ready for the wedding. When we arrived, we were told that we were upgraded to a suite as the hotel had overbooked. Seemed like a sports tournament was in town, and lots of high school age young people. But they were well behaved and we heard no extra noise. Pool was busy. But we didn't have time to try it out anyway.
Our room was very nice for the $70 rate. 2 double beds and it also had a sofa bed which we didn't need. The beds were nicely fixed with updated white linens and extra feather pillows. We were given the choice when we booked if we wanted extra feather pillows, or a feather-free room. Our night's sleep was very quiet, and the room seemed to be well insulated from noise. Air conditioning was easy to control, and our room was comfy after a 95 degree day.
The suite had 2 older tv's, and a nice little stereo system too.
The only criticism we had of the property was that our showers were cold to luke warm on a Memorial Day morning. Didn't seem like a mechanical problem. We assumed that the hotel was fully booked with young people staying for the tournament, all showering at the same time. Also, I had requested extra towels, but there were no extra towels in the room.
The breakfast was above average for the typical free lobby breakfast fare. It included cold and hot items like waffles, cereal, muffins, hard boiled eggs, Jimmy Dean breakfast microwavable items, yogurt, hot oatmeal, coffee, juices, tea, milk, etc. Food was nicely set out, and the breakfast area was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarlemontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Boston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

With some trepidation, for the first time in 15 years, we drove from Mass. to our condo in Hilton Head. Actually, the trip (absent of horrible DC traffic) was perfect. Starting early, and breaking up the trip, helped make it a pleasant experience.

This hotel was a welcome place for our overnight stop. It is a little off of I-95, taking about 10 minutes from the exit (onto I-64). The lobby was bright, and the check in was extremely easy. The staff all want to make this a pleasant stay. The parking lot is well-lit, and within walking distance to a fun, casual restaurant called O'Charley's; also worth a visit without needing to drive again. Returning to the hotel, a tray of fresh cookies were at the front desk.

The room was quiet and clean, and we woke up to a nice continental breakfast. In all, I would highly recommend this hotel, and we booked on the hotel's website at a very fair place. The only downside was that wifi was a little spotty, but I can access the internet on my phone. We never visited the interior pool, but we were really looking for R&R before continuing on our trip in the morning. I plan to make this an annual stop for our next trip to Hilton Head.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfs0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Northwest/Short Pump
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64
Address: 9937 Mayland Dr, Richmond, VA 23233-1462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Richmond
#20 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Richmond Short Pump hotel off I-64. Minutes from the Innsbrook financial district, our Richmond, VA hotel near Glen Allen is convenient to I-95, I-64 and I-295 and provides travelers with easy access to local businesses, as well as a short drive to the Museum and White House of the Confederacy and Civil War Battlefields. Free wifi, Free Breakfast, Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Nw Hotel Richmond
Fairfield Inn And Suites Richmond Nw
Fairfield Inn Richmond
Fairfield Richmond
Richmond Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing