We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honoring Our Hero's”

Virginia War Memorial
Ranked #24 of 173 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Honoring Our Hero's”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Since the expansion there is lots to see. Family Friendly, Gift shop and lots of history to learn. Staff is there to help. Not only a bit of our Military History but a beautiful spot over looking the James River and parts of the city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank celticdove61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    33
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Memorial”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

we visited today and enjoyed it immensely. it was not very busy and i am sure that contributed to it being pleasant. nice displays and movies and overall it was free, but we still donated into the clear donation box in the main lobby. the bottom exhibit floor was the nicest. it is a memorial and not a museum so keep that in mind. we definitely recommend adding this as a visit on your things-to-do in richmond when visiting. try to go at an off-time and i think it'll be more enjoyable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert-1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

It is a beautiful structure and very touching. I enjoyed looking at all the names and seeing the beautiful statue inside. It has been remodeled and is quite beautiful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful. Worth a visit for everybody”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I went to the VA war memorial for a special ceremony on Memorial Day. The special occasion made this visit a truly memorable experience. Many prominent politicians such as the governor were there, as well as an astounding number of military veterans and active duty personnel.

The outside hall of memory is gorgeous, and the inside is also very well presented with interesting war artifacts and memorabilia. There is also a room with the names and pictures of all the Virginia service members who have died in the war on terror.

I would highly recommend everybody to visit to better understand and appreciate the sacrifices that our fellow Americans and Virginians are going through still to protect our freedom at home and abroad.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AYachanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Must See Place in Richmond”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited for the first time on Memorial Day. It is a beautiful spot overlooking the river and a fitting tribute to those who gave their lives so we may enjoy our way of life here in the USA. Be sure to go inside and visit the museum where Virginians' roles in past wars are highlighted. There are many special events scheduled throughout the year, but it is a worthwhile visit on any day of the year.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Virginia War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing