We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tribute”

Virginia War Memorial
Ranked #22 of 168 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful tribute”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The memorial is a beautiful tribute to our fallen heroes. The setting is also spectacular. Our tour was very educational and informative.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank N2Books
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    31
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Not only is this a gorgeous memorial, it also has an awesome view of the downtown Richmond Skyline and the James River. We often take visitors here, so they can get some good pictures.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice memorial”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not a lot of exhibits, but the one large exhibit is detailed and interesting. The war memorial itself is a very well done, and personal monument.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Radar7330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Building without Much Content”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The building and grounds are beautiful. Inside, there are some artifacts and exhibits, but there seemed to be a lot of space looking for something of substance. There were a number of exhibits of model (toy) soldiers. Some uniforms and weaponry were on display. Several U.S. military weapons, but also foreign military weapons - I thought it odd to be displaying Japanese, Soviet, and other foreign arms. I guess the Memorial took what a donor made available? A volunteer who was a veteran guided us to a 20-minute film titled "Into Battle". This film was well done, but a bit bland. The vignette where a Vietnam War veteran was describing to his son how he lost one of his buddies was the most poignant.

This is a beautiful memorial. Admission is free.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Illahee3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful tribute to the military”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The war memorial is beautiful, marble and glass panels with the names of americans (from virginia) who gave their all in world war ll, korean war, vietnam war, and the persian gulf. A "Memory" Statue that is meant to reflect the sorrow and pride the people of virginia felt for the fallen soldiers. An Eternal flame for patriotism. There are also Flags flying from all branches of service as well as the pow/mia flag and national and state flags. The detail is great in the memorial, the glass etching is great, the marble is great.. even the detail in the above "sky" they have put stars in... above the names... This is somewhere you should definatley consider a visit!
We will be back to tour the inside (they were closed when we arrived) I'm sure there's much more to see in there

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jacjasjoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Virginia War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing