We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential?”
Review of Shockoe Slip

Shockoe Slip
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Potential?”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were here on Memorial Day week end. Almost nothing was open and the streets were empty. Maybe our timing was off.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, VA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Be Sure to Take in the Main Street Station!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If nothing else, be sure to visit the old train station, called the Main Street Station (http://www.richmondgov.com/MainStreetStation/), while visiting Shockoe Bottom. It's a glorious building and has quite a history, as evidenced in the exhibits/photos on the 1st and 2nd floors. It felt like a step back in time. Also, be sure to check out the Farmer's Market, just a block or so from the station. While it wasn't up and running to full capacity on our visit, I'm told that it bustles in the Spring and Summer.

One worthwhile tip, trust me, check out Bottom's Up Pizza and order the Chesapeake, which has a sublime white sauce and is topped with crab and sauteed onions that is to die for! I've been eating this special pizza for over 20 years and have found no other to match it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A fun way to spend the day”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We walked around, saw the old train station (Awesome) and went into a few quaint little shops. We stopped by the market and grabbed some fresh fruit and did a little shopping. It was a fun time!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an evening”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Shockoe Slip has a variety of shops and places to eat - something for everyone. The stone streets and interesting buildings make it a great place to wander for a few hours. If the weather is not cooperating, look at a map in advance because there are a lot of small streets. Street parking is free and lot parking is available for under $10. Menus are all posted outside so you know the options and prices before going into any of the restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LikeItLocalStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,145 reviews
656 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“great time!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great walk, enjoy weather and great company. Advised wear comfortable shoes. Area in clean and of course restaurants variety. I eat jamaican restaurant jerk chicken with white rice was very tatesful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shockoe Slip also viewed

 

Been to Shockoe Slip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing