We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Classsic movie theatre in Carytown

Byrd Theatre dates from the Golden Age of Hollywood. Few of these classic theatres remain in use... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2018
Jeffry B
,
Melbourne, Australia
Bask in the opulence of a bygone era

Incredible old movie palace to see classics and 2nd run movies. The new seats are in, so It’s a lot... read more

Reviewed June 4, 2018
brinkjc2
,
Richmond, Virginia
via mobile
Read all 244 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Richmond
from $34.00
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
from $38.00
More Info
from $51.94
More Info
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
143
80
11
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
80
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wurlitzer organ weekend night cheap date movie house popcorn tickets films fundraising architecture restore matinee landmark rows gem restoration
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 241 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Byrd Theatre dates from the Golden Age of Hollywood. Few of these classic theatres remain in use. The seats are reasonably comfortable and the cost of tickets will not break the bank, it's good for a cheap date. One of the glories of the Byrd Theatre is the grand old Wurlitzer Organ.

Thank Jeffry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

Incredible old movie palace to see classics and 2nd run movies. The new seats are in, so It’s a lot more comfortable now. My theater of choice if I’m going out to a movie in RVA.

Thank brinkjc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2018

We went as part of date night to see The Greatest Showman and it couldn't have been in a more appropriate setting. Freshly popped corn, the sloping seating rolling out before the sculpted and painted walls created an atmosphere that rounded out our night perfectly. Tickets were cheap, including popcorn to share, we had change from $20 you really can't get better than that. If you love the architecture of the old cinemas you must go. If you love classic film, go, they run monthly themed films, my visit just missed the end of the gangster season and they had all the classics. If I lived in Richmond I'd be a regular, in fact I'd probably be one of the volunteers there. Yup it's run on donations by volunteers. You're doing good just by going!

Thank Giles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2018

The Byrd Theater was a breath of fresh air to my normal movie going experience. The tickets are cheap and its unlikely there will be a large crowd. Although it was built in 1928, it has everything you need. Comfortable enough seats, candy/popcorn, and a nice screen/sounds systems. My girlfriend and I had a great time looking throughout the theater before the show. We saw Lady Bird, how appropiate I know, and can't wait to see another movie next time we visit.

1  Thank brochoa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I love discovering local movie theaters when traveling. The Byrd Theater was a rare, especially historic find. At the time we saw a Saturday morning matinee of An American Tail - part of a series they run for family oriented classic movies. They had fresh local coffee available and since this was between Christmas and New Years they played holiday music on the theater’s organ while sing-a-long lyrics were projected on the big screen. It was truly a one-of-a-kind experience and I highly recommend visiting if you are in town.

For reference they did accept Moviepass, however tickets were very inexpensive since it appears they play second run films.

Thank Zachary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

Built in 1928! This is a Richmond landmark that must be experienced! Myself and my wife went before Christmas and before the movie there was a sing -a-long with a Wurlitzer organ! The movie theatre is beautiful! Truly an experience!

Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

They just Friday installed new seats and they are great! If you didn't want to return because of those old seats, try again!!
Also they now accept credit card for drinks and popcorn except refills )yeah odd but it's coming they said).

Thank ccjjharmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed going to The Byrd. The theater is gorgeous, but is undergoing some much needed restoration of the seats and carpet. I was a little shocked first walking in on the condition of the seating. That should be much improved soon. Overall a great experience that I would highly recommend.

Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

Carytown area has much to offer and the Byrd Theater is a local treasure. Movies are often recent runs from larger movie houses but the prices are $2 per person. Great when you are a family of 7. Clean bathrooms and lobby areas. The seats are old and in the process of being replaced. Patience is required! Don't be spiked by the larger stadium type houses. This location is nostalgic and worth going to. Beautiful chandeliers and decor.

Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017

This is a must see if you are interested in film history, architecture, cheap films, or just interesting places to see! It is a really cool experience to sit in a theater as majestic as this is with a box of popcorn and watch a movie.

The seats are a little narrow and so are the rows but thats not the end of the world.

Thank kyurinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews