We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Byrd Theater, Carytown, Richmond”
Review of Byrd Theater

Byrd Theater
Ranked #1 of 24 Fun & Games in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Byrd Theater, Carytown, Richmond”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Richmond's landmark movie palace. Be sure to come Saturday night for the Mighty Wurlitzer concert before each $2.00 movie.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    79
    11
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great movie experience”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Seeing a movie in this historical building is awesome. Before the show, the organist rose from the ground and played a skillful 15 minutes in place of the movie previews. The tickets are cheap $1.99 but the concession inside is expensive. The bathrooms and seats you sit in need to be restored. I suggest a short movie as you can feel the springs inside of your seat. The building is wonderful and I hope people continue to support this treasure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank magicofeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, VA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What an Architectural Deam and Movies for $1.99?”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I didn't even see the interior of the Byrd Theatre in downtown Carytown, but was blown away by the outstanding exterior architecture and attention to detail. Apparently, the interior is just as good and thank goodness someone had the foresight to save and preserve this beautiful landmark. I hope that the pictures I took do it justice, but trust me, see it in person - Cary Avenue, and you will not be disappointed!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Took me back in time...”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I visited the Byrd Theatre December, 2012 to watch the movie, "It's a Wonderful Life." We have never been before & were excited to finally go. While the main theatre was in "good" shape, the bathrooms can stand to be updated. They appeared to be original & due to that, a bit creepy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2bamom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“I like it”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Cheap movie and popcorn!! Parking was a small hassle but other than that its a great place to get out every now and then

Helpful?
Thank KarimF242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Byrd Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing