We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GORGEOUS”
Review of Byrd Theater

Byrd Theater
Ranked #1 of 24 Fun & Games in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We love going to the byrd! It's only $2 per ticket, so we go pretty often. The building is absolutely gorgeous, definitely give it a try!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hippie_Groomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    79
    11
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historic Landmark”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We visit the Byrd Theatre any time we can. It is what movie theatres looked like when I was a child and is so beautifully restored and maintained. Best of all the movies all cost $1.99. It is located in trendy Carytown that is full of good restaurants and shopping. So make a day out of it walking through Carytown and end the day with a movie at the Byrd!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank OKinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old School at it's finest!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Feel free to experience a blast to the past!
Two dollars is well worth the price of admission, plus a movie to boot! Wish it was in my back yard!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Walter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“takes you back to when you were young.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

this is what movie theaters were like when you were growing up.
$1.99 movies how can you beat that price and on certain weekends you can hear the mighty wurlitzer playing

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lauthehut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Old fashioned theater!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Old fashioned with an innovative snack bar including homemade cookies!

Prices are great, movie selection as well. Located in trendy Carytown section of Richmond, plenty of places to eat before attending a movie.

If you're tall, be sure to grab an aisle seat - they were smaller in those days!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Byrd Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing