We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best donuts!”
Review of Sugar Shack Donuts

Sugar Shack Donuts
Ranked #4 of 21 Bakeries in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Glen Allen, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best donuts!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I have always experienced great customer service here. Their donuts are the BEST! And soon the staff will know us by name lol

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_loT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    24
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,740 reviews
1,088 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,509 helpful votes
“Good value for money & fresh donuts”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We decided to come here after we read lots of good reviews about it on yelp. And it didn't disappoint.
We tasted the cinnamon and the chocolate&peanut donuts. Both were very yummy and fresh.
For 2 donuts and a coffee (including tip), we paid $5.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The best doughnuts I've ever had, in any state, ever. Like any type of speciality shop... the quantity and variety changes on an hourly basis. Every trip there is an adventure, the doughnuts are delicious, and the price is so reasonable.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheTovars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Really good, but...”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Sugar Shack is one of those places that has become wildly popular, seemingly overnight. They offer a varying selection of high quality doughnuts & a few other baked goodies. Their doughnuts are superior to anything you'll find at the popular chains.
Ironically, the Sugar Shack's quality is what currently makes a visit somewhat challenging. Just getting in the door can be an adventure, because the parking lot is small, the lines of customers can be long, and the shop is small. There is a neighboring gravel parking lot that you are warned against using.
This is a small operation, and they make doughnuts as fast as they can, but the selection may be limited because of the number of patrons. Prices are also high. This is a place to treat yourself if you can get in the door. On my visits, the staff has been cheerful & friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“DELICIOUS!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Maple brown sugar with bacon, cinnamon rolls and apple fritters are to die for. Really can't go wrong with any of their delicious donuts but the 3 listed about definitely won't let you done. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the coffee. Coffee lacks flavors. I enjoy medium to bold coffee and coffee had little to no flavor at all. This is the second time I've tried their coffee in hopes that I would like it but still no go for me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awilliams5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Shack Donuts also viewed

 

Been to Sugar Shack Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing