We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood place”
Review of Galley restaurant

Galley restaurant
Ranked #235 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood place”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great place in the Stratford Hills shopping center. Serves comfort food, sandwiches, and all day breakfast with flair. Manny's Cuban Roasted Pork from Kuba Kuba is served here and is as good as the original.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Run26miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, innovative menu, eat by the windows”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This neighborhood eatery has become very popular and for good reason: the meals are hearty, innovative, and tasty. The atmosphere is fun and feels like a neighborhood gathering place. Casual dining with an open air feel: during the warmer months the front windows are pulled up and the restaurant extends to the sidewalk outside. The pasta dishes are great, especially if you like garlic! Breakfast and brunch are also well done, though I wish the menu would change a bit for variety. The ambiance invites talking to the folks around you and we've met some interesting neighbors. Worth a trip from elsewhere in the city- plan on a line on pleasant evenings because it fills up fast!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good and Spicey”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My friends and I all liked what we got at this local spot off Forest Hill Ave. The serving are very large with a salad big enough for us all to share.
I was not impressed with the deserts. Neither the tiamisu nor the bread pudding will be like anything you have had before so do not be expecting that. The bread pudding was more like flan (we quizzed the waitress being sure she got it wrong) and there was no expresso or chocolate taste to the tiamisu.
Our wait staff made a number of mistakes and offered no refill on the water.
I would go back but with reservations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chill "fan bar" in Stratford Hills”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Love the vibe and atomsphere! The food was tasty & staff relaxed. I must say, the huevoes rancheros isn't as tasty as Kuba Kuba but its a great little gem!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dejessness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bland food keeps me from loving Galley”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I so want to love Galley. The restaurant has a cool vibe. The wait staff is friendly, attentive and quick. The menu is interesting. The food is really fresh. Despite all that the food is just too bland to recommend. We've tried it a few times now and just find dishes across the menu lacking flavor. It's a shame really. This place seems to have so much promise.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galley restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Galley restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing