We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Deep Run Roadhouse

Deep Run Roadhouse
Ranked #94 of 1,607 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Deep Run Roadhouse serves delicious regional BBQ, Tex-Mex and Comfort Food. All of our dishes are prepared daily from the best local ingredients with specialties including smoked meats and made from scratch sides. Owner Paul Hubbard is a native of the neighborhood in which his restaurant is located. Hubbard is a graduate of the Culinary Arts Program at Hermitage Technical Center and has held chef positions in some of the area's finest restaurants. Those family-owned restaurants taught him the importance of hospitality, attention to detail and creating an exciting, flavorful and unique menu. In 2009, he opened Alamo BBQ in Church Hill and realized affordable and comforting food appealed to a lot larger audience. What his audience wanted to eat became his favorite thing to cook. Alamo BBQ's success is a testament to the fact Richmond loves BBQ and comfort food. The two cuisines go hand in hand and are loved by all. Deep Run Roadhouse proudly offers the very best of both and provides delicious offerings for all cravings or diets. Its smoked portabello mushrooms, soups, salads and fresh made sides can satisfy any vegetarian or BBQ lover. All menu items are prepared daily, utilizing the freshest, local ingredients. Deep Run Roadhouse operates on one of Hubbard's favorite sayings: "Never think you're smarter than the food you cook, or the people you cook for."
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have eaten here a couple of times and always left satisfied. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful when it came to explaining their menu and all the choices you have. It's a no frills restaurant where you order your meal at the front counter and its brought to your table shortly.....takeout is also available. The beef brisket is to die for and the rope sausage isn't bad either. :-) Homemade mac and cheese along with the Texas Caviar were my two favorite sides, but you can get home cooked collards, cornbread, sweet potatoes, etc. as well. If you're in or near the area of Gayton Rd. and Ridgefield Parkway (located in the small strip mall near the Nova Swim club), you might want to give it a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome and better than I expected”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The food is awesome! The barbecue is the best I have had in Richmond and the macaroni and cheese is delicious. It appears to be a family run place where they really care about their food and customers. This is a new place that my family and I plan to frequent more often. The outside of this place does not look that inviting, but do not judge this place by it's cover.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Q in Richmond”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

First of all, the place smells like barbecue, unlike some other places around. You place your order from the reasonably priced chalkboard menu -- try the Texas caviar (beans & corn etc) instead of the cowboy beans. Pulled pork seems to be pulled and then chopped, an unnecessary step in my view. The brisket was moist (unlike my preferred Kansas City style) but very flavorful. Sauces are good. Dessert too -- chocolate cake from a nearby bakery, others (pie) made inhouse. Overall, a great addition to the Far West End. (I vote it better than Q, Buz & Neds, Extra Billys).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Alamo BBQ Comes West!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

OK, I give up. When barbecue is either Texas, North Carolina, Kansas City, Duluth, MN, Papua New Guinea, etc. and people are fighting over it, all I want to know is....how the (exple does it taste? Because, if it's good, who gives a damn? Well, that's how I felt about Deep Run Roadhouse, a new outpost set up by Alamo BBQ chef Paul Hubbard (finally, a place to sit and eat his Texas Caviar!). Almost as much fun for a foodie as is humanly possible, the Road house is a Tex-Mex comfort food hybrid, and the crossroads of these is truly an experience. You want barbecue? How about 5 different "meats" to choose from including portobello mushroom (every vegan's favorite meat). Want a burrito? Sure, choose your protein and load it with standards like beans, salsa, rice and sour cream, or go extreme with their Train Wreck, which features some of their best sides, mac and cheese (this ain't Kraft's bright neon orange kid's food-drug), Cowboy Beans (with burnt ends cooked into them), cornbread...just thinking about it makes me wanna take heart medication with me next time. Even the "snacks" sound ridiculous, like the cheese fries with 3 cheeses, barbecue, grilled onions....oh, gotta stop before I conk out the computer from drool. Then there are the sides, and all I can say is, this is what distinguishes Deep Run Roadhouse from the other places that serve similar food, they are just plain fun. From the Alamo mainstay of Texas Caviar (basically beans, corn and onions served in a tasty vinegar base) to their aforementioned, and soon to be legendary Mac and Cheese (with or without jalapenos). The side portions are generous and fun to share and sample, you can get two with a combo instead of one and a drink. I highly recommend the extra cost incurred for the drink. One day, I may just come in here just for the sides alone, they're THAT good.
The format is similar to other BBQ joints in town, place your order and pay, have a seat, and the food is delivered to table rather quickly and friendly. The store front is EASY to miss, just off Ridgefield and Gayton Roads near the most tucked away 7-11 I have ever seen (and almost not seen, I mean this place must stay in business on lottery tickets alone). Atmosphere wise, nothing to get too excited about, but it's clean and airy, with a dozen or so booths and a few tables stuck in the middle of a dining space that's cozy, but big enough for a mental square dance when you are finished eating. And you will find yourself doing just that. I can't remember when I left a restaurant in that much of a better mood than when I arrived, but the Deep Run Roadhouse put a full and for real smile on my face, and I can't wait to go back and take another run!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcngin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The place is clean, setup nice and the staff is friendly. They have a varied menu. I had a pork BBQ sandwich that had great taste. My friend had a pulled chicken sandwich that he enjoyed. I understand that the ribs are the best and I'll find out soon. My friends and I meet for lunch weekly and we will have the group meet at Deep Run BBQ soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ronns40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deep Run Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing