We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and very good Italian meal”

The Grapevine Greek & Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grapevine Greek & Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Greek, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cox Road
Transit: N/A
Description: Indulge yourself with our authentic Greek entrees, homemade Italian dishes, and Mary's incredible desserts. We know you will absolutely love our homemade moussaka, gyro platter, spanakopita, and fresh hummus. Or try our tasty eggplant parmigiana, stuffed shells, pizza, or chicken marsala! We also have an extensive wine list, including specialty & house wines. You'll want to save room for Mary's famous cannolis, baklava, or the incredible belgian mousse cake, layers of rich chocolate and chocolate fudge topped with dark chocolate flakes. The Grapevine is proudly owned & operated by the Trak family. We strive to keep the quality of food, atmosphere, & personal service impeccable standards! Dine-In; Carry Out; Private Banquet Facility offering options for Limited Menus, Buffet, or Family-Style Service; On and Off Site Catering; Concessional Services. History Established in 2001. The Grapevine tradition started with the beliefs and dreams of one man, Michael J. Trak. "Chef Mike" (as his friends and co-workers call him) came to America in 1971 with nothing more than a five-dollar bill, generations of family recipes in his pocket, and a passion for the kitchen. He cooked, baked and sauteed his way through restaurant kitchens, never missing a single day of work. On December 12, 2001, The Grapevine was opened in the Granville Square Shopping Center. The Grapevine quickly established a loyal clientele and was rated a prestigious "A" by the Richmond Times Dispatch. Michael, Mary, Mitchell, Marianne, Rita and Gabor make great efforts everyday to make their guests feel like they are family. They strive to keep the quality of food, atmosphere and service better than any chain restaurant. Chef Mike and Mary spend most of their time in the kitchen, but every now and then you will see them poke their heads out into the dining area and mingle with the guests.
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Affordable and very good Italian meal”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Five adults seated around a large table enjoyed excellent classic Italian cuisine. All of us agreed that our choices were very good; quite tasty. Our server was helpful in making selections for both meals and wine. I would definitely go there again when in the Henrico area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    35
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good food and excellent service”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A group of friends and I went for dinner, and we all thoroughly enjoyed what we
ordered. I had the moussaka, and my friends had either the lasagna or the
fettucini alfredo. Everything was delicious. We also enjoyed our bread and
salads. The salads were rather small, but the dressings tasted homemade
and were excellent. The highlight of the meal, though, was the baklava. We
all agreed that it was the best we had ever had. If you go, make sure you save
room for dessert. It's worth it! What really stands out at this restaurant, though,
is the service. The host and the servers could not be more friendly, and they
go out their way to make sure that you're happy with your meal. If you want a
great Greek or Italian meal, then this is the place to go. We will definitely go
back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra57726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Among the worst for quality and price”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Upgrade your salad to Greek salad for $2.50 and get two pitted ripe olives, a dusting of feta and 1 (ONE) anchovie!! Baked spaghetti was less than half covered with cheese. Meat balls were small enough to be covered by the spaghetti which was not a great quantity. Their pricing compares favorably, however, with 4 and 5 star Italian venues - go figure. I would never return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l7thtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Monday Lunches may not be the best”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The service was good and the staff was very nice, but the food was mediocre. My greek salad was smothered in crumbled feta and it was a little overpowering. I couldn't finish even the small salad. My partner's gyro was machine-sliced a bit thick at a factory somewhere and frozen for the trip to Richmond. He had hoped for more authentic greek food. We were both most surprised by how cold it was in the restaurant. I never took my coat off and the overhead fans were going. It was about 50 degrees outside and probably about the same in the restaurant--not very comfortable, so we hurried and left. Maybe we'll try them again in warmer weather.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FlourGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THE Best for Italian/Greek with great service and awesome food”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Once again, where to go...this time, with a long run the next day, my wife wanted Italian so she can "carb up." Olive Garden, Maggianos, or Grapevine? Of course, Grapevine...but, we needed to get something from the mall, so let's just go to Maggianos and knock out dinner and shopping. Then a better idea, let's not! With not even a 30 second debate, the Grapevine was the choice. Here's why:

1) Grapevine food is just awesome...growing up in an Italian family, unlike chains, where even if the good is "good," the marinara sauce seems, well, like it came from a restaurant. The sauces at the Grapevine are the best...hands down. They taste homemade, they look homemade, and they are not the heavy tomato paste that chains are known for. And full of flavor...it just tastes "fresh."

2) Portion sizes that Nana would be proud of! I always leave with a takehome box and that works for me. Their meals always leave you full, even when you eat half of the portion...and they don't jack up the prices to accommodate...Spaghetti and meatballs - with a house salad and bread, I ate half of it and was a little more than full. Lasagna is always a winner, by the way!

3) Prices are reasonable and good for the quality of the food. Baked spaghetti and meatballs for $14 with bread and salad is not bad at all. If you want their sampler of 4 items, that is only $18, which is a very fair price for the food.

4) Atmosphere is great for couples. Not huge like Maggianos, or folks running around like crazy at Olive Garden, the restaurant is nicely done with a cozy, romantic feeling...you don't feel like you are crammed in with people on all sides of you. The low lighting and "quiet" that you don't feel in larger restaurants is great - you can actually have a conversation without having to yell over others and "feel" like you are alone, or not surrounded by 500 others.

5) Service is great. We always get greeted at the door with a friendly smile and they actually act like they are REALLY glad you came in...not the sterile "hi, can I help you?" as with other places. The waiting staff is really good...attentive, without being overbearing, they are very helpful with suggestions, knowledgable about how the food is prepared, and well, just friendly...like they WANT to be there serving you. Last night was the first issue we ever had. We ordered the 4 dish combination, and noticed that there was no lasgna and only one ravioli on the plate. After bringing that to the waiters attention, he immediately apologized (same as in other places where that might happen), but then said he was going to have the manager come by (something I don't see often enough in other places...the waiter fixes the problem and no one knows, so the problem never gets addressed to prevent it from happening to someone else). The manager came over, had already found out what happened, was completely honest and said, we have a new employee that fixed this incorrectly, and by the way, he was ready to set out another for a guest, and we caught the same problem before it went out...and then he said something I NEVER hear, "Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention, so that we can ensure this gets corrected and doesn't happen going forward. Since you are almost done with your meal, may I bring you a new full plate or have one made to-go for you, for your inconvenience)." WOW! Yes you can and remember, my wife ate HALF the current plate and was full! So we took that home AND a FULL meal, made as it should have been. This was our only problem in 13 years and they handled it IMMEDIATELY and with style.

6) Family - the Trak family KNOWS family - with many of them at the restaurant, they make you feel like family and they ensure, as guests, you are comfortable and attended to, just like at home! I cannot tell you enough how much the atmosphere, the food, the varied menu, that has something for everyone, and the PEOPLE, make this restaurant. You can go to Maggianos or the Olive Garden where food is churned out, and it will be "good," but if you want to dine (not just eat), where the food is fresh and made for YOU, the atmosphere is romantic and calming, and they treat you like family, then the others are a distant 2nd to your choice to dine at The Grapevine!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Citadel1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grapevine Greek & Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Grapevine Greek & Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing