We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Southern Cooking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort

Comfort
Reserve with OpenTable
Comfort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Southern Cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I always enjoy this restaurant and go every year for a friends birthday. This is a great place to eat with a small group where you can order a meal and then eat the sides family style. It is small and is also a little over priced but the food has always been great. I've never been with anyone who has complained about how tasty everything is.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashlea_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    97
    48
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had the fried catfish, which was to die fior! Tried all the different sauces for it and yet it was best plain.....that's how good the quality of the fish was. Sides are all good old fashioned southern cooking. Service was attentive without being overbearing. Only downside is if there is a loud group it does get very noisy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rsbtcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dinner at Comfort Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The fried catfish, okra, and cheese grits were fabulous. The $7 beer was terrible, I should have stayed with a known bottled beer, and the tomatoes used in the fried green tomatoes were too green. I had better fried green tomatoes at "Oh Henrys" in Rogersville, TN, for less than half the price. The fried green tomatoes at Comfort were like breaded hockey pucks. In addition, I am disabled and use a small electric scooter. The only entrance to the restaurant has a very small step but it still required my getting assistance to lift the scooter over the step and into the restaurant. The restaurant also got very loud as more people came in. There is a lovely old tin ceiling overhead that probably helped bounce the sound around the room.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colliermj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lots of Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Food was very good and well prepared. And there is a lot of it. Would be OK if you're a local and can take the rest that wasn't eaten home. But, if staying in a hotel not very convenient. Small restaurant and gets busy so service can be slow. Martinis were prepared nicely.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank joeandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Horrible! Tasteless. Expensive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is no where near soulfood cuisine, unless you don't have tastebuds. The catfish was gewy in the center~not cooked, even the waitress looked grossed when she saw it. I had to send it back & had the pulled pork instead~way too vinigery. The banana cream brulee was not that exciting. The scallopped potatos were ok. I wish I had a better experience to share, but I have to be honest...never again. MAMA J's here I come.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wisdomf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comfort also viewed

 

Been to Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing