We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service, well presented, expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemaire Restaurant

Lemaire Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lemaire Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,593 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“great service, well presented, expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

There is no doubt with main courses at over $30 this is going to be relatively expensive. Portions are small, but well cooked. We thought some of the combinations were odd, or perhaps interesting and adventurous, depending on you point of view. poor coffee. cocktails too limited in choice. plenty of space between tables, attentive and ppleasant service, but for me the food was just not up to the ambitious price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MootHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    97
    28
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsdale, Nj
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A special spot for a special time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Lemaire is in the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. The hotel has been around since forever and Thomas Jefferson stands in the center of the lobby. This hotel even has it's on museum. The crown of the Jefferson is it's top drawer restaurant, Lemaire. They have a lovely wine list but truly, the food is the star. The chef has created wonderful accompaniments to the fabulous crab cake appetizer. The duck entree was equally wonderful. Although pricey, for a special event it's really worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Traditional Southern Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Take a walk back into history as you enter the Jefferson Hotel where this restaurant is located. Ambiance is quiet and reserved. Service was very good and our waiter was very well informed about the menu and how dishes were prepared. The wine list was respectable and reasonable. The dinners were prepared to everyone liking including the steaks which differed from other reviews you'll find here. All in all, the evening we shared with local friends at Lemaire was a very good experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jtraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel and restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have always enjoyed dining here. Wonderful place to stay as well. When we want to get away for a romantic weekend we book two nights at the Jefferson and dine one night at Lemaire and the other night at Bookbinder's, both excellent places. They will even shuttle you down to the latter so we can leave our car in the lot. The bar at Lemaire is comfortable and trendy, great drinks and food. The service is always top notch as well. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Worthington65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fine Dining, Relaxed Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We enjoyed our meal so much the first evening at The Jefferson Hotel that we ate there again the second night, and breakfast Sunday morning. It's just lovely. Great good, fresh ingredients, interesting/innovative menu, wonderful service. Thoroughly recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemaire Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lemaire Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing