We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tops in Richmond”
Review of Lemaire Restaurant

Lemaire Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Lemaire Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,607 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tops in Richmond”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Every significant town has its go-to dining establishment for special occasions and in Richmond it's Lemaire. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays, the staff is friendly and efficient and the restaurant ambience is very pleasant. On a Friday evening just before Christmas, the restaurant was full but not packed, the noise level was respectful (pleasantly subdued) and the service was excellent. Each of our dishes was prepared beautifully although my filet mignon came out cooked a little unevenly, but that's a nit. Our only suggestion is to broaden the menu a bit and provide guests with a few more interesting choices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThadZer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    104
    30
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go for the atmosphere, not the ratings”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our party of three dined here in mid-December 2012. It was our second visit to Lemaire within a year. No doubt we were able to get at a table at this four-star restaurant on a Friday evening because we were willing to eat late: about 9:30 p.m. Sadly, once again the quality of our meals did not measure up to the high ratings of the restaurant. Our sea scallops entre was too salty and on the dry side – creating the impression that it may have been prepared earlier and re-heated. The grilled rockfish entre was average in its preparation, as was the third entre, the red snapper. The décor and atmosphere of the restaurant , located in the imposing historic hotel The Jefferson - is elegant and inspiring, although the noise level at our table was a bit high, perhaps because the table was located too close to the bar. The entrance to the restaurant via the hotel lobby with exquisite Christmas decorations is impressive. Go for the atmosphere, go for drinks, or even try a dinner, but don’t be surprised if your meals are not four-star quality.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AMG-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine dining both in bar and dining area”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Lemaire is the perfect classic, classy Richmond bar and restaurant. The bar area is great for a more casual meal (although you can order from the dining room menu) and/or just drinks. The happy hour is from 4 - 7 weekdays and features discounted drinks. Don't fall for their "3 for $20" appetizer special, though as they won't tell you they reduce the size of the apps by 50%, thus really making that choice more expensive. The appetizers are great, but go for the full-size and not the "deal." The bar scene at times can get rowdy, especially when there are weddings and other events being held in the hotel, but the crowd is always one where "rowdy" is not offensive...usually. I have been there with friends, with my wife and with our children and it is perfect for all.
The dining room menu is wonderful and can be ordered both in the bar and more intimate dining area. While many do not wear jackets in the dining area, it is certainly a more formal setting and a full suit and tie would not be out of place and in fact would look right at home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst service ever...”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Attended a Brunch on 12/14/12 and we were shocked how bad the food and service was for a hotel that is touted as being "multi-starred". My omelete arrived cold and one of our guests did not receive their entree until the rest were nearly finished their meal. We were charged "extra" (really??) for cheese-bacon biscuits that were actually quite good, but were shocked when only three arrived for a table of six! Constant searching for staff for beverage refills and other requests was futile. Surprised that they could earn ANY stars at this level of service...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QuotaAchiever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“After 10:00”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

After attending a Christmas party off site, came back to Lemaire for a drink/late dinner. Unfortunately, the late menu is lacking, but the ambiance made up for the limited menu.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lemaire Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing