We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lethargic Service Filled With Errors”
Review of Mi Hacienda

Mi Hacienda
Ranked #448 of 1,606 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Norfolk, VA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Lethargic Service Filled With Errors”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

There isn’t much to recommend at the restaurant. The décor is gaudy. The waitresses were polite, but lethargic. Service was slow across the board, as both drinks and food took a long time to arrive. The portions were small for the price. Two of the four orders in my party had errors and had to be sent back. Even the payment process took longer than it should have. I’m not going to darken this doorstep again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeBHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Another great time at Mi Hacienda tonight. The food is very good and really fast. The service is good, as well. Staff is friendly. The Friday Sunset happy hour was very enjoyable. Outdoor seating is nicely laid out and cozy. I've been eating here for so many years and never tire of it. The restaurant is beautiful inside. I like it so much, I wish I could buy the building, move it and convert it into my home!

This is a place you really shouldn't miss. I'm pretty sure you will be happy if you stop in and relax over a good meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chateaudoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We been to this place several times and each time the food seem different. On some days it's either too salty or spicy. Just a inconsistent place. The waitress staff is at times rude.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Violet035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So Good I Wanted More”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Earlier today I set on a quest to find a restaurant that provided an authentic Mexican cuisine experience. And because Taco Bell was packed with customers during mid day, I opted to go to Mi Hacienda Mexican Restaurant. How did my experience go? Here is my review.

The Good:

Service- Upon entering the restaurant, I was greeted and seated. It did not take long for the server to bring out some tortilla chips, dip and take my order. It was my first time in the restaurant but through online research, I knew what I wanted to order. I ordered the Cheese Steak Burrito. The server was very friendly and brought my food out in less than 10 minutes after ordering. I cannot argue with good service.

The Not So Good:

Taste- As previously stated, I ordered the Cheese Steak Burrito. The dish came with a burrito, rice and lettuce. In my mind, since this item was under the American favorite section the burrito would mimic the contents of an actual Philly Cheese Steak. Instead, it had strips of beef, mushrooms and onions inside while the cheese was poured on top of the burrito. The burrito was not bad, but I was not expecting to taste what I tasted.

Price/Portion Size- The dish cost $9.75. I could have went to Chipotle and got a burrito that had double the meat and other contents inside for 3 dollars less. After eating this dish I still found myself somewhat hungry.

The Bad:

N/A.

Overall- The service was top notch. This restaurant is the place to go to when you are hungry and looking for a quick bite to eat. I could see myself going back again, but I would not order the Cheese Steak Burrito. Aside from the small portions, I do think the flavors are on point. FOUR STARS.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice time at this restaurant the food is awesome had a burrito it was so good ! The sauce you get with the nachos is delicious. The service is really good and the decor is really nice. The margarita are so good! Will go back next time when I'm in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S1982p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Hacienda also viewed

 

Been to Mi Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing