We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who needs atmosphere?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Diner

Thai Diner
Ranked #239 of 1,593 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Who needs atmosphere?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Well, ok...atmosphere isn't everything. I'm multicultural and enjoy taking in the atmosphere of a different ethnic group. It surprises me when an ethnic restaurant doesn't promote its culture much...like playing American jazz or rock and roll.

With that said, I must say that the Masaman curry was one of the best I've had. The wife's yellow curry was even better (for those who don't know, Thai curry is nothing like Indian curry).

So forget atmosphere. Enjoy the food.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank righteousdaddio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great staff and better food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I love going to Thai Diner. Our schedules don't allow us to eat at the restaurant, but we do a lot of takeout. This is the best Thai in Richmond.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank iweb4him
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“thai food?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Cheap prices, decent food, the entrance is on the side it's a dark intimate atmosphere. I thought it needed some updating That took away from my dining experience. Nice friendly staff, quick service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simplyserious01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Quality, Less Quantity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Overall, we liked the food and service. Two things i would like to note though: 1) Quantity of the food was not enough for one entree (We went for lunch) 2) Vegetables (French Beans in particular) was not uncooked.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodLoverInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Casual and close to hotels on Broad St. Clean, grat staff. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpbtkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Diner also viewed

 

Been to Thai Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing