We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mofongo”
Review of Havana 59

Havana 59
Reserve with OpenTable
Havana 59 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 1,631 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: One block south at Main/N 17th St and two blocks north at E Broad/N17th St
Description: Havana ’59 has been a staple in Richmond’s Shockoe Bottom District since its opening in 1995. We are proud of the community we have served for 22 years and the loyalty and longevity they have provided us, as demonstrated by our 2017 OpenTable Diner’s Choice Award. We invite you to step back in time to the tradition of excess in 1950’s Havana, when the island city was known as the “Paris of the Caribbean.” The combination of tradition and indulgence cultivates a casual yet elegant atmosphere where the string lights, enormous open windows, crumbling plaster walls, palm trees, and aroma of fine cigars envelope you as you relax and enjoy the tantalizing delights of a bygone era. We proudly offer our guests an unforgettable culinary and cocktail experience delivered with exceptional service, from the fresh juices we press in house for our cocktails, to the locally sourced ingredients utilized in our scratch kitchen.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I came here for the salsa night (Thur) and went downstairs for some grub when I got hungry. I had the mofongo creollia, plantain bread pudding with a mango rum sauce, and mango mojito.

Mofongo Creollia - the sauce and the mofongo itself were flavorful. The vegetable inside the mofongo could use some more seasoning.

Plantain bread pudding - delicious and the whipped cream complimented the bread pudding.

Mango mojito - was there any alcohol in it AT ALL?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank damiandagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P, General Manager at Havana 59, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Hello Damian,

We are happy to hear you enjoy our Salsa dancing and food. I must apologize if the vegetables in our Mofongo dish weren't seasoned enough for you. I will pass those comments along to our Chef. We are glad to see you enjoyed our Plantain bread pudding as well.

ALL our Mojito's have 2 ounces of libations. The great thing with a Mojito is the rum mixes so well you can't or hardly taste it. But the punch is there--just have a few! Did you know that we were voted "Best Mojito in Richmond"?

Thanks for your support and your comments. We hope to serve you again real soon!

Mark, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 146 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Had some if the best Mojitos during our recent visit. The Mango Jalapeño had just the perfect amount of spice and sweetness. Great service and yummy food. Prices are comparable to many chain restaurants, but has the perk of being a local establishment. Being able to enjoy a cigar after dinner was a huge plus as well! They have a separate non smoking area as well making this place a must try for all!

Thank Destindreamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P, General Manager at Havana 59, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hello,

We wanted to say "thanks" for the kind words of appreciation you left and are thrilled that you enjoyed our specialty Mojito's, food and great service. We hope to serve you again soon and please stop by during the warm weather months when our garage doors are up and our open-air patio is in full swing. SO much fun!

Thanks again,

Mark, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Such a unique place. We love going here. There is no other place with a menu like Havana 59. The Mojitos are the best and they are always adding new recipes. The atmosphere is like sitting in Havana and the best part is -- you can enjoy a cigar before, during or after dinner. Don't miss it. (they also have non-smoking)

Thank DrivingHazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P, General Manager at Havana 59, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hello,

We wanted to extend our thanks for such a great review. We are thrilled that you enjoy our menu, Mojito's and cigars. We try to keep things fresh and exciting to keep our guests coming back. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Tried the spot after purchasing a Living Social. We are very glad we did. Great atmosphere and really terrific meal. Mojitos are really good. The empanadas were delicious. I had the seasonal catch which was grouper and it was cooked perfectly and prepared with a tasty and unique flavor. My husband had the special which was a bone in pork chop with sweet potato fries. The barbecue sauce was very good. The service was friendly and attentive. This was a great treat for Richmonders who had never made it to this great little gem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lissiejane-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P, General Manager at Havana 59, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hello,

We wanted to say "thanks" for the kind words of appreciation and letting everyone know what great food, drink and atmosphere Havana '59 has to offer. Our staff tries hard and it's nice to know that our guests notice. We hope to serve you again soon! Thanks!

Mark, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My buddy & I went to Havana for Happy Hour/Cocktails before dinner at a nearby restaurant. It was years since I was there, but its still a really cool place to have a drink &/or cigar. The bar is big with lots of cocktail choices and you feel like your in Cuba or South Florida. The bartender, Pablo, was very friendly, helpful and knowledable about everything on the drink menu. We didnt eat, but really enjoyed our short time there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Yates26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P, General Manager at Havana 59, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hello,

We appreciate the kind comments you posted about our establishment. We have a great staff and Pablo is one the best bartenders around. We are glad you got to experience him, our tasty drinks as well as a cigar. Please come back and enjoy our food, prepared by Chef Bryan and staff. All fresh, all good, all the time. Thanks!

Mark, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana 59 also viewed

 

Been to Havana 59? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing