We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TJs for Breakfast is a Must”
Review of TJ's

TJ's
Reserve with OpenTable
TJ's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: TJ's is a Southern bistro providing a relaxed atmosphere perfect for lunch with colleagues, clients and friends, a mid-week breakfast or a late lunch upon arrival. Whenever possible, local produce, naturally raised meats and sustainably harvested seafood are featured. TJ’s beverage menu provides many options for guests to explore flavor by pairing their beverages with our cuisine! The beer program features a broad selection of Virginia breweries, as well as a seasonal, rotating microbrews by the bottle and on draft. The wine program shows young, fresh wines from the Old and New World at excellent prices. The inviting lounge offers a casual atmosphere for a gathering of colleagues or family. Enjoy a unique specialty cocktail or craft beer in the lounge while watching the big game on our “hidden” TV. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“TJs for Breakfast is a Must”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The grits tell the entire story! A five star hotel will, of course, grind their own hominy for their signature coarse ground cheese grits. Freshly squeezed fruit juices, coffee better than that famous chain and pastries made in house all come together for a memorable meal. One criticism: the scrapple breakfast entree was unimpressive. The scrapple came to the table with an almost burned exterior, and an interior like paste. A disappointment given the excellence in other areas.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BLSRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    51
    22
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tasty breakfast”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We got the bed and breakfast package and went here for our meal. As with everything at the Jefferson Hotel, service was great and food is fresh. Good gluten free options too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank michelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at TJ's, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed breakfast and that you appreciated the gluten free options that we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Going the extra mile”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I recently had lunch at TJ's during a conference. My friend was from out of town, and I wanted to show off The Jefferson, the grande dame of Richmond hotels.

After a walk through the impressive public spaces of the hotel, we arrived at TJ's. The dining room was mostly full, with people in business attire making up most of the clientele, although there were some other people in more casual dress, as we were.

Our server was friendly and attentive, but not hovering. My friend and I both ordered sandwiches, which were excellent, if a tad messy (in a good way). My friend also had the house-made watermelon lemonade, which she liked.

At the end of the meal, the server offered us generous, lidded "go" cups of ice water, since it was over 90 degrees F outside. What a thoughtful gesture! Very welcome, too - we drained them on the way back to the convention center. That "extra mile" service is worthy of The Jefferson, and puts TJ's above other, similar restaurants downtown.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMinV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan K, Manager at TJ's, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks for your kind words. We always try and instill those kind of values into our staff, so we always appreciate when we get feedback that they are going the extra mile. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lemaire is better”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Jefferson overall is great, and Lemaire is fantastic. TJ's is just ok. The prices are (for the area) rather high, just as Lemaire's, but the service isn't quite as good (it's good, but not AS good) and the menu isn't as broad. If Lemaire hadn't set such a high bar at the same hotel, TJ's would probably get a better review. Would probably give this 3.5 if I could.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nocares67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good choice for a late night meal”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We checked in very late, and needed a simple meal. After unpacking we went downstairs to Tj's. Our waitress was very nice, and the setting was quite pleasant. We ordered the house salad, with the Tj's burger and the pork belly reuben sandwich. We were very happy with the quality of our dishes as well as their size (not too big), our cocktails were good too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KaC_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJ's also viewed

 

Been to TJ's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing