We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to start the day”
Review of TJ's

TJ's
Reserve with OpenTable
TJ's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 1,607 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: TJ's is a Southern bistro providing a relaxed atmosphere perfect for lunch with colleagues, clients and friends, a mid-week breakfast or a late lunch upon arrival. Whenever possible, local produce, naturally raised meats and sustainably harvested seafood are featured. TJ’s beverage menu provides many options for guests to explore flavor by pairing their beverages with our cuisine! The beer program features a broad selection of Virginia breweries, as well as a seasonal, rotating microbrews by the bottle and on draft. The wine program shows young, fresh wines from the Old and New World at excellent prices. The inviting lounge offers a casual atmosphere for a gathering of colleagues or family. Enjoy a unique specialty cocktail or craft beer in the lounge while watching the big game on our “hidden” TV. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great way to start the day”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We enjoyed breakfast at TJ's as part of a special stay at the Jefferson Hotel. The menu is large with local specialties. Both of our meals were excellent and service was just right. A little pricey, but worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    49
    22
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great causal lunch place”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

TJ's has always been a nice place, but food quality has clearly moved up several notches, yet prices remain modest. Their corn and shallot soup is to die for!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank edoSyosset_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
555 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

TJs is "clubby" looking restaurant on the lower level of the Jefferson Hotel with a lovely setting. We have eaten there for a dinner that was average, a few months later for breakfast which was fabulous, and yesterday for lunch. Our party of four tried different things. I had a sandwich described as grilled chicken, avocado, Havarti, tomato and fried tobacco onions on a Kaiser roll. It should have been flavorful but it was fiery hot from chili flake on the chicken and the avocado, a guacamole type spread rather than a slice, was also hot in flavor. The heat drowned out everything else so it was a disappointment. Friends had the breaded fried pork chop sandwich with a fried egg and red cabbage sauerkraut. The chop was get dry and overcooked. Service Wake Forest cordial and attentive. So 3 trials but only one food experience i would rate as good versus average to disappointing. Food 2, ambiance and service 5.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
269 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Shrimp and Grits”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were staying at the hotel and wanted to grab a bite to eat. I was interested in the Shrimp and Grits but they are only for breakfast. I inquired if it would be possible to get them for dinner, and they said of course! They were yummy. My sister had the Red Snapper for her meal, and devoured it. We were getting brunch the next day and our waiter took the time to find out where we would be sitting, and giving a little description of it. Everyone at the restaurant was kind, and very friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
182 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good hotel restaurant”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had breakfast here on our day of departure. Ambiance is what you would expect but the food was above average. The Eggs Benedict had a local flare with pulled pork instead of taylor ham and it was outstanding. The wife's meal came out wrong and they could a bit longer to bring out the correct one than you would have expected but they were very gracious and comp'd us the meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judge_Smails-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJ's also viewed

 

Been to TJ's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing