We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the biscuits!”
Review of Perly's

Perly's
Ranked #4 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Go for the biscuits!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Loved the biscuits, crispy bacon, and stewed apples. Coffee hit the spot, too. Opens early on Sundays which worked well for our schedule.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank happygringa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    104
    29
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Okay Breakfast”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was visiting Richmond downtown when I missed the breakfast at my hotel (Hilton downtown), the front desk recommended Perly's for breakfast. When I entered the place, I knew I was in a "downtown icon restaurant for Richmond." The breakfast was okay, but I found it very rich in grease and that just isn't what I call a good breakfast. Even my bagel was dripping with oil from being toasted on the grill in butter. However, I was seated right away, and the customer service was excellent. Would I dine here again, probably not. Would I recommend it to others, probably yes for those who like down home cooking with lots of fat and calories. The food was reasonably price and that was one good thing for sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanniene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breakfast = yumsville”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I went here for breakfast, Saturday morning before we left for the Nascar race. Yelp was right on the money. We were seated in a reasonable time, the service was excellent, my boyfriend was happy he could get a beer with his breakfast (it was 5'o clock somewhere). The biscuits were mmmmmm yummy!! I don't like runny scrambled eggs, I described that to my waitress and I got perfect not burnt eggs. The potatoes have onions in them, but that's what I like and they were awesome. The western omlete that my boyfriend had was yummy too. We will definately to Perly's next year race weekend, and will be bringing our friends and recommending Perly's to everyone we know going to Richmond.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast experience!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We found this place on Tripadvisor and previous reviews were spot on. The restaurant is nostalgically appointed. The service is wonderful and the pancakes were the best we have ever eaten ! The price is unbelievably reasonable! I highly recommend Perlys for a unique yummy breakfast experience with old time value, service and taste!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovehamptons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Perly's is a Richmond icon so we walked down from the hotel where we were staying to eat breakfast on Saturday morning. It was very crowded and the staff was not overly friendly. The food was good, but not exceptional. We stuck with the basics--eggs, toast, home fries. It was reasonably priced and what one would expect for a small, hometown diner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N2Books
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perly's also viewed

 

Been to Perly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing