We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A far cry from NYC” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Deli

New York Deli
Ranked #191 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: American, Bar, Delicatessen, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A far cry from NYC”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stopped for breakfast on a Sunday morning. Service was fine but the food not so much. Ordered the Migas Cuadros (Mexican egg casserole) and the Big Breakfast. The casserole was more like over cooked scrambled eggs topped with wedges of tortillas that had been baked on, not appetizing at all. Sent it back but didn't order anything else since my husband's Big Breakfast came with very lumpy grits, over well eggs (ordered over easy), a pile of rubbery bacon (ordered it well done), and an overtoasted bagel. How can one kitchen mess up all the items we ordered. Will not be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    40
    13
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Have eaten here twice with family. A lively place on vibrant Cary Street. Ice cold beer and a nice selection of sandwiches and dishes, most with a slight twist that is pleasing. Service is average, but overall you can't go wrong here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It could have been worse.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We frequent New York Deli in Carytown once or twice a month. The food is good (we have favorites) and usually the service is very good. Today was different. The service was horrible.

It is rare for me to call out a server but, Justin was busy with the rest of his life, not his customers. He was slow taking our order (15 minutes) and only refilled our glasses when we asked (they went completely empty for 10 minutes). While waiting on at least three other tables, he sat down with another patron to explore other work opportunities. Not smart. The finale was waiting over 15 minutes for our check, even after asking.

Enter Hanna. Hanna appeared to be an expediter, not a server. This young lady stepped in to make the experience as good as it could be, after what we encountered. Kudos and the tip to Hanna.

If NYD was at the top of their game, the manager would have been there during lunch rush on a Saturday. No such luck.

Guys, you have been around a very long time. Please start getting thigs right.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“new York Deli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had dinner last night at NY Deli...haven't been there since it was remodeled. Enjoyed the new look. Great Reuben sandwich and a fine waitress who took excellent care of our party of 6.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JosieSicheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

we stopped by for lunch and it was aight. great service. I enjoyed my patty melt, but whatever steak type sandwich my wife ordered sucked. she did not like it and when I tried it the au-jus was bland and the steak strips were too chewy. dessert was good. so either we ran into a dud for my wife's meal due to a dorked up cook, or what she ordered sucks every time. we def won't get that again. i'll get my patty melt again though - it was tasty. will probably try the reuben next time just to try something different. give it a shot, we think you'll be pleased.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert-1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Deli also viewed

 

Been to New York Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing