We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened?”
Review of Hermitage Grill

Hermitage Grill
Ranked #288 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $0 - $12
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This used to be one of my favorite Northside restaurants in Richmond. Since the fire the place has completely turned around.

The atmosphere is now 70's trailer park with light wood paneling that's atrocious.

The wait staff has deteriorated dramatically and all of the old staff has moved on, no doubt due to the long closing after the fire.

The bar is too busy for this to be a viable restaurant for dinner. It's way too loud and close to the tables and the owner and waitstaff seem much more interested in the bar traffic than serving the overpriced food.

I've been to dinner twice since the reopening and was very disappointed. Brunches used to be great and sounds like they're still okay but I'm pretty much staying away at this point.

What a shame!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
central Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“BRUNCH IS GOOD but costly; AVOID DINNER”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Been 3 times now; BRUNCH is edible, but pricey. Brunch service is far better than at dinner, where our waitress thought it was funny that the soup was MUCH too piquant to eat. Coffee is fair, service is less so. At dinner in winter the joint was COLD inside (almost as cold as the waitress's snobby attitude). Okay, SOME people (not us) assume desperately overpriced and fiercely overspiced is the same as "TRENDY", and if so, lets ban every "trendy" joint on the planet. This joint (and it's small enough to be "cozy") does have SOME decent selections, but they are all FAR TOO EXPENSIVE, even after allowing for the sorry ambience. Oh, but THE PIPED-IN MUSIC was pretty good. Wish the service and all the food was also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djlovindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
“More than a neighborhood grill !”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We met Sam at the Farmers Market. He told us we should come by for Sunday brunch and we are very happy we did. The food was wonderful, people where great and 10 minutes from our house. We'll be back !!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Keep Driving- Not Worth the Time”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had been here once before prior to the fire. We liked it then and were in the area. The place is very small. The owner was just standing around talking while we waited for our waitress. We ordered cocktails; first mistake. They come in old fashion tiny water glasses. Not worth the price for the small size. The food is okay, but presentation is completely lacking. I agree the prices seem high for the quality. As for atmosphere- it is non-existent. This restaurant could be a cute place with atmosphere, but they are more interested in cramming as many people as possible in the small space and then somewhat ignore you. However, you are so close you can just grab them.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“AWFUL ! AWFUL ! AWFUL!!!!!!!”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Absolutely the WORST place I have ever gone to eat!!!!! The food is horrible and the prices are WAY to high. Even it the food was half way worth eating, the prices are just outrageous!! Very obnoxious staff, especially if you are there after 7:00 because it seems they have all had a drink or five..... I highly recommend that you NOT go to this establishment (or hole in the wall) to eat !

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermitage Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hermitage Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing