We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tasty meals friendly atmosphere”
Review of Acacia Restaurant

Acacia Restaurant
Ranked #180 of 1,606 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“tasty meals friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We met friends at Acacia for drinks and dinner on a Thursday night. My husband didn't realize they had valet parking so we were driving around for a bit until we saw the valet sign. Valet guy was friendly. We met at the bar, the bartender was helpful with suggesting wines. The restaurant was not too full thus the noise level was perfect for table conversation. Our waitress provided us with an explanation of a few entrees that were not listed on the menu. The menu is small but with a variety of dishes. Many seafood dishes. We tried several of the appetizers ( ceviche, clams and oysters) Small portions but very tasty, enough for us to have a taste. The crab cakes were very good as were the scallops. Seasoned well with a good presentation. The staff we encountered were friendly and polite.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    28
    16
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable night out!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went with a party of four adults on a Saturday night (with reservations). Enjoyed the free valet parking which made going to Carytown easy. The restaurant was busy and we were early so they seated us in a waiting area and a waiter came over promptly to offer drinks from the bar. Before we even had a chance to get the drink we ordered, we were shown to our table and our drinks were brought there. Our waiter, Aiden, was fantastic - very knowledgeable and attentive to our needs but not intrusive at all. Great recommendations - we enjoyed all courses. Standouts were the oyster appetizer, the cheese grits (wow!) and there wasn't ANYTHING left on anyone's plate for entrees and we all ordered something different (rockfish, steak, salmon and crabcake). We also enjoyed some fine cocktails, french press coffee and fun desserts. The restaurant was a little loud but it was full and it was Saturday so not surprising. We all can't wait to return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dafootes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Go--Rude and Arrogant”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Like a lot of the other “One-Star” reviewers, we were treated in such an arrogant fashion by the owner that we will never go back. Wow, they have come a long way (downhill) since their old location when at least they seemed to appreciate their customers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shockingly rude service over "seared tuna"”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

After last night's dining experience, no one in our party of 7 will EVER darken the door of Acacia again. Out to celebrate my mother's birthday, our party consisted of 5 people in our fifties, the 86-year old birthday honoree, and my 90 year old father.

Seeing that her "seared tuna" was too raw for her liking, my sister politely asked a waitress if the tuna could be cooked more. The waitress (who we later discovered is the owner!) bluntly refused, saying the dish was prepared perfectly and could not be changed. The owner offered no apology and no remedy, such as the chance for my sister to make a different selection. Later, we politely asked a different waitress to have the tuna cooked more and got the same response, even worded the same way. When it came time for the bill, we politely asked that they take off the charge for the untouched tuna dish. They refused to take off the charge, even when we asked again. No one EVER apologized, not even to say they were sorry the tuna dish was not what she had expected. The charge for the tuna was $10 on a total bill of close to $400! For the first time in any of our lives, we left $0 tip.

I see that another reviewer calls the servers "not accommodating". Grant's "Olive Oil Incident" leads me to believe this is an unfortunate trend with Acacia. What a shame....The food is pretty good, but we will NOT return and will discourage others from patronizing such a non-customer oriented place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Raves Are Greatly Warranted”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I'd visited Acacia with a fellow organist from our church about two years ago and enjoyed the best meal I'd ever had in Richmond. When family members came from many points along the east coast this Thanksgiving, I decided it would be a great treat to visit Acacia again with a party of ten. I was a bit worried after having read some negative reviews this afternoon and wondered whether this restaurant had gone downhill. However, tonight, in our two hours at Acacia, we all found our meals to be top drawer--some of the best steaks we've ever had and the crab cakes simply in a terrific league of their own. Our server, Lauren, was very personable without being cloying, and she was very patient in explaining all of our menu questions. Service was timely and everyone at Acacia proved to be friendly and helpful. The music was not too loud at all, as complained about in some earlier reviews. And we had no problem with having our appetizer and main course selections ready to order at the same time, which, for some odd reason, previous reviewers found to be problematical. It made sense to us that the chef prefers knowing appetizer and main course selections in order to time everything so that the table is served appetizers ready for the entire party at the same time, with the main courses following in a very timely manner, all ready for the entire party at the same time. I should rave most of all about the food at Acacia: it is wonderfully seasoned with highly interesting combinations of flavors, but never over-seasoned with seasonings that prevent one from enjoying the primary flavor of a dish, whether beef, fish, or shellfish. We had a party of ten, as stated above, and we enjoyed appetizers, wine and other adult beverages, main courses of all types, desserts for most of us, and coffee and our bill was just over $500.00, including tax and excluding the tip. I will return to Acacia again, eagerly. Oh, and I should mention that one in our party is a talented chef from NYC, and she was very impressed with Acacia. Again, many thanks to Lauren, who helped us with our order and greatly contributed to this enjoyable evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acacia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Acacia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing