We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avalon now Social 52”
Review of Social 52

Social 52
Reserve with OpenTable
Social 52 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #445 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N. Mulberry St.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avalon now Social 52”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Renovations preserve old Richmond with contemporary look. Feels more open. Despite crowd didn't feel cramped and service was excellent. Food was very good . I had the duck breast and wife had salmon. This was after sampling 2-3 excellent appetizers . Will tell all my friends and will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philgsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    13
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Changed ownership!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A new restaurant is opening here following renovations, new menu, decor, theme, chief, staff and features.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLKj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small plate heaven!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Avalon has friendly service, fresh food, original ideas.
Great wine list. Great dark wood in an old fashioned bar.
Interesting dishes, like shrimp with Couscous instead of grits. Brussel sprouts sliced up and thrown in a griddle with garlic and pine nuts.
Truffle French fries!
Never been disappointed.
Even small plates are generous for the price, enough for the table to sample.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebsterRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Will be back for dinner”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We came for happy hour on friday night. They have a nice bottled beer selection. I needed a snack so I ordered the bibb salad with basil ranch dressing and a basket of homemade bread and butter. The salad was incredible, so fresh. It made me want to order dinner items as well. We will be back another night. The bartender was reserved but very friendly at the same time. All of the staff seemed happy to be there. They weren't packed for a friday night but seemed to have a decent dinner rush. It's quite cozy but has plenty of room and privacy at tables. Looks like a good place for families or intimate dinners.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“not sure.....”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I went there with a friend for drinks & appetizers since we had a coupon/offer. From what I understand Avalon has been there for a while. The service was good, but the place is dark and doesn't have much to offer in atmosphere. I thought the food was ok, but they had a very limited menu.

To be honest, I'm not sure I would go back again as there are way too many better options very close.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yates26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Social 52 also viewed

 

Been to Social 52? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing