We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmospere in Careytown”
Review of Nacho Mama's

Nacho Mama's
Ranked #591 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and atmospere in Careytown”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a nice lunch at this charming Mexican restaurant. We were immediately impressed with the pleasantness of the bartender as you come in, who worked to quickly accomodate our large party. Everyone enjoyed their entree's. Although we did not imbibe, the cocktails being served looked very well-received by the clientle: margaritas and frozen mango drinks were going fast on the sunny Saturday afternoon we dined there. Our server was excellent and very attentive. We were at a table upstairs, and the kitchen is on the ground level; despite the upstairs trek, she provided excellent service to our party. We parked in a public garage (free), which was just a short walk to the restaurant and other Careytown sights.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    31
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Food, Nice Cozy Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

On our way back from a southern road trip, my husband and I stopped here to have dinner before heading to our hotel. Nacho Mama's is located in a college area with lots of interesting shops, and it is frequented by a lot of young people and their families. Our waiter was friendly and helpful. Portions offered are very large with Nachos and Salsa included. We ordered the lunch portions of chicken chimichangas and enchiladas. They came with rice and beans, and were warm and tasty. This quaint restaurant is nicely decorated with bright murals, and delivers a good meal. Don't walk by, stop in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTRTeach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“"Great little place"”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This great Mexican restaurant is in the CaryVille neighborhood of Richmond,which is a fun eclectic area where there is much to see and do. You can sit outside to people watch on the patio or lots of seating inside. The food was great and a nice size portion, many drinks to choose from,must have a Margaretta or a nice variety of mixed drinks and beers . The wait staff was nice and service was great, these people really work hard to make customers happy.The menu is not over priced , a good value. Glad we stopped here and would again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boopdboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wrap heaven”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Wraps are what I enjoy the most here. Great fresh ingredients in a rustic environment. It has a patio which is also a treat as it's a great people watching area. The drinks are pretty good as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlothian va
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We ate here and had very good food and friendly service. We ordered a few hot and spicy selections and they lived up to their name. Definitely needed the beer to cool off with.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ricky_8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nacho Mama's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing