We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant

Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were a group of 9 who walked in around 5:30 on Saturday night. Though there was not a problem getting a table at that time, by the time we left around 6:30/7, the place was really hoppin', with many people waiting for tables. Since we live in the Washington DC area, we are used to having great ethnic restaurants, so I was really surprised at how great this very unassuming joint was. The setting is pretty basic - I don't recall if there was any decor, and the tables and chairs were very basic. But the service was excellent. Within a minute of my daughter spilling her drink on the table, two servers were assisting with sopping it up. The food - from salads to noodles to meats and fried items - was wonderful - fresh, plentiful, and delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danceqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    68
    24
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Coolest Beer Experience I've Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I came here with friends who knew the owner. It was after their final customer of the evening had left so he and the bartender were really just hanging out because we were there. They brought out several super fine beers from Switzerland and elsewhere in Europe. It was seriously the coolest beer experience I've ever had...and I'd like to think I've consumed my fair share. I would happily go back in a heartbeat, next time I'm in Richmond. If you're anywhere near this area and appreciate good beer, go here. I hear the food is great, but can't comment on it myself. Thanks to An the owner and "Mr. T" the bartender.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMTvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best Vietnamese in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

You will not be disappointed. this is the top Vietnamese restaurant in Richmond. Nice setting, good service and excellent food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank black5603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best selection of Beers from Belgium you can find, anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Great food and good beer, what more needs to be said? Oh, and the Pho noodle is good. This is the second time if visited in as many weeks.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank questcarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An Asian Beer Garden Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

What a delightful surprise! Only place to get fantastic German beers with delicious Asian specialties - quite a quirky surprise! The food is really good - lots of families in the dining area and young couples in the smaller dining room near the bar.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnParris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mekong Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing