We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back”

Strawberry Street Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Strawberry Street Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #103 of 1,608 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Here at Strawberry Street Cafe, we have been providing great food and service in an inviting, casual atmosphere since 1976. Located in the Historic Fan District, we are only about a ten minute drive from the Landmark Theatre and the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. What we are best known for is our famous salad bar, which is actually situated in an old-fashioned bathtub and filled with fresh vegetables, fruits, prepared salads and homemade soups. The menu includes such specialties as Maryland Crabcakes, Pasta Jambalaya, Homemade Chicken Pot Pie, and Spinach Lasagna.
Tappahannock
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“We keep going back”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I first ate at Strawberry Street Café in my teenage years, longer ago than I care to admit. The fact that I keep going back speaks to the fact that the restaurant is consistently good and that I enjoy the food. My wife and I take out girls, 15 and 12, every now and then, but we particularly like going on a "date" for the salad bar. The Bathtub salad bar is always nicely stocked with good quality salad fare and they have a variety of side dishes and a daily soup. My girls like going to Strawberry Street Café reasonably well, but I imagine that they will want to go back over the years, even when they go on their own dates. The tables are very basic and the place is not fancy, but the good food and atmosphere make this a good place to eat. We would probably give this place a 4.3 or 4.4, but since those ratings are not an option, we think it is certainly a strong 4.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rivahrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    82
    36
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This place is known for its "salad bar in a bathtub." I didn't partake of the salad bar, but I did have some wonderful French onion soup, and some of the best mac and cheese I've ever had the pleasure of shovelling down my gullet! Everyone else at the table had sandwiches and the salad bar, and everyone enjoyed their food immensely. The Brunswick stew was especially popular; I saw the staff refill that soup tureen twice during my meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Richmond Tradition - worth the visit”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Tucked away in a local neighborhood Strawberry Street offers a nice selection of food and drink. Their bathtub salad bar keeps us coming back year after year. Great chicken salad and the best marinated mushrooms.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank joeworf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Family Gathering”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent brunch on Sundays. Food is consistently good and reasonably priced. Great place for family gatherings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Lean
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Drop in Surprize”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just happened upon this little restaurant when meeting for a wedding cake tasting, located on the same street. This is a cozy neighborhood restaurant with excellent food and an extensive wine list. I had a hummus platter and a flight of white wine suggested by my waiter - everything was fresh - veggies were crisp, hummus and pita were homemade and delicious and the wine flight was very nice. Later we came back and had a light dinner. I had the quiche, my son had a pot pie and my new daugher-in-law had a salad. Everything was beautifully plated and delicious - I look forward to going back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveldiva36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strawberry Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Strawberry Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing