We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Fan staple”

Strawberry Street Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Strawberry Street Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 1,603 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Here at Strawberry Street Cafe, we have been providing great food and service in an inviting, casual atmosphere since 1976. Located in the Historic Fan District, we are only about a ten minute drive from the Landmark Theatre and the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. What we are best known for is our famous salad bar, which is actually situated in an old-fashioned bathtub and filled with fresh vegetables, fruits, prepared salads and homemade soups. The menu includes such specialties as Maryland Crabcakes, Pasta Jambalaya, Homemade Chicken Pot Pie, and Spinach Lasagna.
richmond virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a Fan staple”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place has been around for a long long time. this is the first place i ever went to to eat when i visitied Richmond over 20 years ago
and don't forget to catch a look and enjoy the bathtub salad bar....

Helpful?
Thank lauthehut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    82
    33
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Don't miss the bathtub salad bar!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great food at a reasonable price. Located in the Fan, a yup and comer neighborhood in Richmond, you can always depend on Strawberry St. (Addison St. on either end)

Don't forget to look out for the creative chalkboards full of art located throughout the restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“On the short list”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This cafe delivers no matter when we show up! It is a consistent favorite. I have always been pleased with my meal whether it is a just bowl of soup or one of the entree specials. Neat salad bar with the bathtub set-up, just be mindful of the floor surrounding it...I nearly wiped out on some potato salad that had dropped on the floor. Accommodating staff and always cheerful. We once walked in at 9PM with an impromtu group of 10 on a Friday night and were met with smiles and no hint of eye-rolling. Neat atmosphere...if you go, PLEASE notice the artwork on the chalkboards. It changes frequently and is done by local artists (I believe college students). Just beautiful. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneH831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Dinner!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My mom and I just had dinner here and it was great! The friend green tomatoes were amazing! I got the crab quiche and it was stuffed full of crab meat!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyPearl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, Good prices, Good location”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This restaurant has a variety of food types and prices, from sandwich to more entree level food. Good for lunch before or after a museum or Careytown. The bathtub salad bar is curiously quaint.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bloatedpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strawberry Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Strawberry Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing