We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb restaurant in Careytown - always enjoyable”
Review of Zeus Gallery Cafe - CLOSED

Zeus Gallery Cafe
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A superb restaurant in Careytown - always enjoyable”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We absolutely love this restaurant. Wandering around Careytown and taking in new sites and places, we return often to the wonderful food and atmosphere of Zeus'. From the apetizers of fried oysters (which I frankly never really liked because I did not have the pleasure of tasting these before) to the cheese board with a variety of cheeses, meats and sauces (and bread), to the tremendously cooked scallops served atop well seasoned asparagus and polenta, we have never been disappointed. (We shared the scallops, so the picture is a split serving). The service is always attentive to the customers and I have rarely not seen a smile or helpful tip on the menu. Going back? Of course. You should definitely stop by and try this "neighborhood gem" as Diana calls it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elijah598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    11
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Friendly, comfy and delicious!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We held our weekly Manager's meeting here a couple weeks ago, and it was nothing less than fabulous! Appetizers were delivered in a timely manner, drinks were refreshed frequently, our lunch orders were delicious, and the desserts were FABULOUS! Thanks to the new owners, our experience was out of this world!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunriseCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, Wonderful Gastro Experience”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you like wonderful, creative food - this a fantastic restaurant. Zeus Gallery is continuing its tradition of amazing service and fresh, creative dishes by Chef Matt (he bakes the bread here, too). There's a great wine list, terrific food and a cozy atmosphere (soft lighting, exposed brick, local art gallery). The local owners came out to kindly greet us - this is the place I will keep coming back over and over. I'm never disappointed. Zeus Gallery Cafe is a wonderful small dinner spot within Carytown/Museum District - we can walk here. And don't forget to save room for dessert - the key lime pie rocks. Love it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spupintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My friends and I enjoyed superb cocktails, fresh salads, and delicious fried oysters, typical of the small but special restaurants that dot Richmond's historic district, The Fan. The service on the Friday night we were there was friendly but slow... it could have been better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DIANA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced and uninspired”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was our first trip to Zeus Gallery Café in many years. It has great ambience and good location in the shadow of the Va. Museum. Under new ownership since the beginning of 2014, the menu sounds like it would have some winners on it, but my husband and I were appalled at the very high prices, lack of any salads or lighter fare, and the mediocre entrees that arrived lukewarm. The vegetables were tough, the veal/polenta balls were bland, and the shrimp and scallops were sparse. Way too pricey for what we got. I'd say go elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing