We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not the breakfast place you're looking for.”

River City Diner 17th Street Farmers Market
Ranked #188 of 1,603 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This is not the breakfast place you're looking for.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went there today (6 April 2013) for breakfast, hoping to have something nice and relatively inexpensive before seeing sites in Richmond. Alas.

First, we were greeted by a skinny young waitress with a definite attitude problem. This was somewhat remedied by our subsequently having a pretty good waitress.

We ordered the supposedly-special French Toast and the supposedly-award-winning Banana-Pecan pancakes. Yeah, not up to diner standards (we have some good diners where we're from; this doesn't begin to compare). Even accounting for the lowish prices, this was not good food. The hash browns were good, and they *were* willing to accept special orders, but ... if you're supposed to have "special" French Toast and "award-winning" pancakes, they need to be at least decent. Again: alas.

To top it off, as we left, my fiancee (who was a chef in a nice restaurant) glanced into the kitchen - and was immediately disgusted by what she saw. Never a good sign.

So: while it wasn't "terrible" (probably just "poor"), the positive reviews need significant counterbalancing, esp. given what my fiancee saw. Don't go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twickertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A throwback to the past.”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Diner is what a diner should be - all about the food. The prices were good and the food was plentiful and tasty. Our waiter was very helpful and attentive. Definitely a good place for breakfast/lunch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average Average Average”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

From the reviews on here I think my expectations were too high. The location is very cute, the building itself is pretty cool, the wait staff was super friendly. The food was "meh".

I got the biscuits and gravy. We went here because it was the highest rated brunch place that served biscuits and gravy, my favorite. The biscuits were lovely, the gravy was pretty horrid. It tasted like cream of chicken soup with huge chunks of grilled sausage thrown in at the last minute. The eggs were SUPER dry and the potatoes were pretty bland. It was a fine restaurant for a regular Sunday brunch, but for being on vacation it was pretty lackluster.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank disdamsltres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, va
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool Location - Great Food”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The staff was super nice - the pancakes were amazing and the building itself is pretty cool. Highly recommend!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really good breakfast!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Went for breakfast on 8/5/12. Great Atmosphere, food was really good along with friendly service. Reasonable priced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyerb727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Diner 17th Street Farmers Market also viewed

 

Been to River City Diner 17th Street Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing