We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation celebration - Very nice but some dinner menu items are pricey”

Tobacco Company Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 1,606 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 12th Street
Transit: Convenient public transit stops in front of the restaurant.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Graduation celebration - Very nice but some dinner menu items are pricey”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our family group of 7 had an early dinner at Tobacco Company Restaurant following my son's high school graduation. The restaurant is in a renovated tobacco warehouse in the historic Shockoe Slip area downtown and is a unique place to take out of town visitors. It has been in business for 37 years which is remarkable. We were seated on the 3rd floor, and we rode the glass sided elevator in the atrium so we could enjoy the many ferns, flowers, dark wood railings, and ornate chandeliers. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable, and service was quick and attentive. I had mentioned that it was a graduation celebration when making the reservation, and the waiter congratulated the graduate when we arrived. We enjoyed the she-crab soup as an appetizer. Some items on the dinner menu are pricey, and for dinner specials, you may wish to inquire about the cost before ordering. As an example, the waiter noted that one of the specials was surf and turf which was the petite filet mignon and a crab cake. We did not ask about the price, but should have because the fillet menu price was $35 and then they added an extra $10 for the crab cake for a total of $45, which was not a good value for that particular meal. My husband ordered the surf and turf and said that the steak was not particularly tender and was served on top of a red steak sauce which surprised him because he feels that a good steak doesn't need a steak sauce. Other meals were more reasonably priced between $25 and $30. I had the barramundi (a special) which was excellent. The prime rib is their specialty and it looked very good. My daughter enjoyed the rockfish. The portions were plentiful and came with vegetables. Presentation was appetizing and aesthetic. Their desserts were large, delicious and presented nicely. We split the desserts between two people, ordering the Peach Melba Cheese Pie and the Molten Chocolate Truffle Cake (see picture). Valet parking is available for $5 and there is a self-parking deck behind the restaurant at a cost of $4. On-street parking may be available at less busy times of day. I recommend this restaurant for a celebration or business event and for the unique venue of being a renovated tobacco warehouse.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiFromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    343
    125
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“stayed after going for a drink”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

popped in to shelter from the rain and stayed all night. sat at the bar and enjoyed a good selection of ales and then had amazing bar food, houmous , calamari and sliders went down well and teh atmosphere is great. do go and enjoy...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Interesting place to eat in the Historic District”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

A group of 7 of us had a business dinner at the Tobacco Company in May. The restaurant is located in the quaint historic part or town with older buildings and cobble stone streets. The building itself used to be a tobacco warehouse and it is three floors with a large atrium in the center. The steps are pretty steep. The décor is great with exposed wooden beams and lots of little alcoves and private rooms…lots of eclectic pieces in different rooms. There is a bar area where you can just stop in for a drink and it features many of the local brew pub products.

We ate in a small room on the second floor. It seemed like 4 or 5 people were taking care of us. The room was a little cramped for 7…but kind of added to the charm. They are basically a steak house with the house specialty being Prime rib. Most of our group had that and it was very good and cooked the way it was ordered. The rock fish was good and I had the baby back ribs…also good. The entrees ranged from $22 to $35. Our only issue while we were there was the waiter knocked over a bottle of red wine onto one of us. They only offered free dry cleaning…I think they should have at least comp’d the wine.

Overall a good, interesting place to eat in the old district.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Touristy Tobacco”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This restaurant does feature a really nice space though its nothing special in the food realm. Nice friendly and accommodating staff and service. We each got the she crab soup, very nice and split a crab cake dinner with two 4 ounce portions. It was dead in there and so a crowd may have lifted the experience but can't say I'd go back. There are lots of interesting options a few steps away! Good place to bring a group though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie2D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming, elegant, delicious!”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

You must eat at this restaurant when you are in Richmond! The food is excellent, the ambiance is historic and charming and the service is friendly and helpful. Although, many patrons were dressed up, we wore jeans and felt very welcomed. We all ordered different selections and everyone loved their meal and appetizers and it was reasonably priced. Fresh linens and flowers on the table, full of southern charm!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytrailsi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Company Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tobacco Company Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing