We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed this place”

Tobacco Company Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 12th Street
Transit: Convenient public transit stops in front of the restaurant.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“enjoyed this place”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

big place, huge chandelier and fun décor. I had a mahi mahi with navy bean salad and really enjoyed it. partner had a steak that was tasty but a little tough. music was pretty bad but we enjoyed the ambiance and the food. service was great! but no women servers...a little old fashioned to me.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeidiJ433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    346
    126
    42
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Journey back in time”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Tobacco Company exudes character and service from curbside arrival with efficient valet parking in busy downtown Richmond. From there, the decor is very impressive and you hardly know where to look to drink in the rich appointments and pleasing views that are a feast for the eyes in this multi-story venue. Live music pervaded the establishment from below and there was scarcely a seat to be had anywhere. Good sign of its popularity and also reminder that reservations are a must.

The menu is extensive with good ole Southern and American favorites throughout. A bit pricey, but that typically is the case in a popular downtown venue like this beautiful eatery that has so much to offer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hey_Joe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great band”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to see a local band and to enjoy the great food. No cover for the band and the food prices are very reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wooddog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seriously happening!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

At the end of a long, steamy Richmond day, full of meetings, I opted for a drink and dinner at the Tobacco Company. The bar was packed full of interesting folk of all types. The bartender was extremely efficient and friendly and there was good conversation at the bar! I had the steak au poivre, asparagus, and potatoes. It was cooked perfectly and very delicious. I walked by other downtown restaurants and they were nearly empty! I guess the Tobacco Company is still the place to go for local businesspeople and out of town visitors. I can't wait until business brings me back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julianewday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Historic setting, delicious food”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

When in Richmond, don't miss the Tobacco Company. Our group arrived in time for the tail end of happy hour and that set the stage for a wonderfully fun and delectable evening. I opted for steak and was not disappointed. The service, the unique setting, and the live music all combined for a memorable night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shell904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Company Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tobacco Company Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing