We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bottoms Up

Bottoms Up
Ranked #28 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great food! You can truly order a slice and be full. Chicago style crust is my favorite and the Chesapeake pizza is the best!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baker G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    137
    56
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
519 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“IT's TRUE BEST PIZZA in Richmond!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I had heard from friends Bottoms Up is best PIZZA in Richmond and I thought how can that be true, pizza is pizza BUT now that we tried it I MUST agree, this is a CRUST above all the rest and can't wait to go back. We had the Greek Pizza FABULOUS

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeannette y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had my first experience with Bottom's Up last night when my two teens and I had dinner there before a show. Being from Williamsburg, we don't get to Richmond too often but I have always heard about this place, and we were not disapointed! My daughter doesn't care for pizza and got the chicken sandwich and she loved it. We also all shared some of their mozzarella "tracks" which I thought would be fried cheese but were very yummy breadsticks covered with cheese and served with sauce on the side. Fortunately our server was extremely pleasant and helpful and explained to us that their portion sizes are large. One slice is MORE than enough for one person. My son and I both had pizza and it was delicious. The crust is thick, but is cooked perfectly and nice and crispy on the bottome, not wimpy at all. We will definitley make another trip back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bottoms Up Does Not Serve Pizza...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Not if you're thinking of NY Pizza, where the crust is thin, chewy and tasty with with a tangy tomato sauce. Nor if you're thinking of crispy, thick, Chicago Pizza (although it almost pains me to call Chicago style Pizza - but I don't want to be too ecumenical...).

What they do serve is giant wads of dough, with bland tomato soup type sauce and soft sort of melted cheese on top. Mostly a flavorless mess.

I put this place in the category of Richmond Institutions (Buz and Ned's, Edo's Squid, Kitchen64) that are mediocre at best, yet still seem to attract a cult following. Not worth the effort, or the time spent on-line, or the parking fiasco.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis_Inc, Owner at Bottoms Up, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We at Bottom’s Up Pizza do not profess to offer any other style of pizza than the unique gourmet Virginia pizza that we have been proud to make for over 20 years. We have never characterized ourselves as New York or Chicago style, nor would we ever dare to describe ourselves as such.
While we recognize that people have varying tastes and preferences, your characterization of our product and the manner of style you declaim are both totally inappropriate and patently false.
For two decades, we have offered the same quality 12 hour crust, house made sauces, and fine cheeses that have consistently garnered the accolade of Richmond’s Best Pizza. We do indeed have a loyal guest base, though I would not deign to label our valued patrons as a cult. They are ever so much more to us than that.
Your representation of some of Richmond’s other fine restaurants demonstrates that perhaps you would be a more fitting patron of a more commercial pizza facility such as CiCi’s or Papa John’s, though we wouldn’t want to seem too ecumenical, now would we?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thick Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I am one of the few people I know who does not love Bottoms Up pizza. It is extremely thick and I prefer thin pizza. Someone recently told me they have a thin option, but I do not remember that being the case.

Helpful?
Thank jasbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottoms Up also viewed

 

Been to Bottoms Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing