We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food”
Review of Casa del Barco

Casa del Barco
Reserve with OpenTable
Casa del Barco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Residing in the restored Italianate Building at The Locks on the historic Canal Walk (formerly the Reynolds North Plant), Casa del Barco is Richmond's singular destination for authentic Mexican cuisine. Beverage Director, Michael Avery, has compiled the most extensive stock of tequilas in the region - over 120 varieties to entertain the palate. From rare Anejos to robust Reposados, the selection is sure to impress the novice as well as the most cultivated enthusiast.
Glen Allen
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This restaurant was a little hard to get to and we had to to pay for the car to be parked. The service and food was excellent. The beef brisket enchiladas were really spicy but great! It is not your typical Mexican restaurant . It is a little pricey if you include drinks and dessert but nice for a special occasion. We will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sidpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    63
    15
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overrated and Pricey”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have been to this restaurant twice, once right after opening - so we will discount the poor service and over-cooked food from that experience. We went again last week, and the service remained poor on a Wednesday night, even though there were only 12 other people in the place. The food was marginally better, but in no way did it meet the value for the high price.
The restaurant location is a bit tough - so we would have expected that there would be a better effort and quality.
The restaurant itself is beautiful - so hopefully the folks from the Boathouse will get this straightened out eventually!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location - new twist on Mexican food”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This restaurant is located on the canal in Richmond - which is one of those places we have always said "Someone should put a great restaurant here." And they finally did! Fun, fresh mexican food - a bit upscale. Fantastic drink menu - flights of great tequilas. Great sangria. The guac is fresh, fresh, fresh. Waitstaff is very nice - I've been their for business dinners, lunch, dinner with the family (including young teens) and even just drinks before dinner elsewhere. Can't beat it - fun for lunch, brunch or dinner. Give it a try. Highly recommend the tacos - fish, duck, mushroom, etc. and also the empanadas - my favorite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic! Superb 'Mex' without the 'Tex'”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had already been to the Casa del Barco a couple of times since they opened earlier this year and it was excellent both times. However tonight was phenomenal. It was a perfect Wednesday evening at the end of summer and we had just returned to the "River City" after traveling for four months on both sides of the Atlantic and eating out at many restaurants which were often much more expensive and not very exciting. We decided to eat out at the last minute and were shown to a table outside by the canal side and close to the old Hydro plant in a historic part of Richmond at the point where Christopher Newport reached the head of navigation on the James. Our server, Amy, was lovely, knowledgeable and helpful. We "lucked out" because on "Wine Wednesday" we were able to get a bottle of decent Argentine chardonnay at half price. We shared the veracruzano, a lime-freshened white-fish appetizer served with chips that was a refreshing change from guacamole or salsa ($9). For entree, I had the beef tongue tacos ($14). I was a bit nervous, but was well-rewarded These were delicate, tender and relatively hard to find in this part of the world. All credit to the chef for serving them and doing such a nice job. My wife chose an item new to the menu: "enchiladas pollo enemolados" ($14, not sure of the spelling here). The dish was completely different from anything we had eaten before. Most of the time the enchiladas sit side by side on the plate drizzled in some kind of cheesy sauce accompanied by various typical sides. In this case, enchiladas were served in a layered dish, with a richly flavored sauce that included black beans and with cabbage on top. It was imaginative, tasty and far more than one person could eat. Unfortunately, neither of us had room for dessert.

The first time you go, it is helpful to make sure you know how to find it, but it is well worth the small additional effort and they provide valet parking. That turned out to be a treat in itself because the parking attendant offered a delightful explanation of the murals on the Hydro plant nearby.

An absolutely amazing evening out at a really fair price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJEUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestonsburg, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Refreshing Take on Mexican Food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location, good food, good atmosphere. Interesting drink selection--I don't particularly care for tequila so I had the sangria (1 glass red, 1 glass white) and it was refreshing and not overly sweet. Bacon & tomato guacamole for the table didn't last long--large portion but we ate every bite. Chips and salsa were also fresh and tasty. I ordered the Yucatan cobb salad and my only complaint was that it seemed a little light on the salmon and shrimp. Fried ice cream desert was good, the other deserts were average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa del Barco also viewed

 

Been to Casa del Barco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing