We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Professional Range”

Colonial Shooting Academy
Ranked #6 of 24 Fun & Games in Richmond
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Colonial Shooting Academy is the Largest indoor shooting range in the United States! We offer THE premier shooting experience in Richmond, VA. Conveniently located on W. Broad Street, we offer a friendly, state of the art shooting facility for all skill levels, from curious beginner to expert marksman. In September 2012, Colonial Shooting Academy was named a 5-star shooting facility by the National Shooting Sports Foundation. This distinction makes CSA the first 5-star range in Virginia, the fourth on the East Coast and one of the only 25 nationwide. As Richmond's premier shooting facility—and the largest of its kind—our goal is to provide a welcoming atmosphere to anyone interested in shooting, whether you've got experience or not. Our first priority is safety. It's our guiding principle. It starts with education, and it ends with careful and precise planning of every detail, from the front desk to each shooting lane.Before you are able to enter the range, you must first complete a brief 10 minute safety video. This course is provided for free to everyone and is valid for one year. The course stresses the safe handling of firearms, and safety practices we require at all times while on the range. Additionally, we require that safety equipment be worn at all times, and that all guns and ammunition brought to the facility meet our specifications before it can enter the range. Upon entering, you will be accompanied to your lane by the range safety officer.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean and Professional Range”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is the cleanest and most professional range that I have been to. There are several ranges to choose from and they are very flexible on the types of weapons that you can use.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bwb138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    9
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbus
Level Contributor
202 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Was disappointed that couldn't shoot due to wait. The desk to check in for shooting was disorganized - unless you are a member they really don't care about your visit. Wanted to buy a shirt - but were out of them. Wanted to purchase amo - but out of it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank muff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great shooting range”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

On a day trip to Richmond we were looking to get a true local experience and came across the CSA. They were very friendly, knowledgable and safety conscience. My teenaged sons had a great time talking with the staff, lots of ex military, and trying the wide selection of rentals. The range officers were especially alert and helpful with great advice. We will definitely be back next time we are passing through the city. My boys now wish we lived there so they could become members.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachchairVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL PLACE TO SHOOT”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

It is located 6100 W Broad Street. There is plenty of parking. The staff there are very friendly and very helpful. They have a sales floor for firearms and shooting accessories, a gunsmith and rental area. They are VERY SAFETY CONSCIENTIOUS and the range is FIRST CLASS. They cater to the entire family and have various memberships or just drop in and shoot. They also has a nice lounge

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
~~~
Level Contributor
202 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A+ Staff & Facility”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Yes, the facility is top notch, new, clean, and very well laid out. However, what really sets this place apart, and why I got a membership, is the staff. This is the friendliest and most helpful gun store / shooting range staff I have ever met. Every staff member WANTS to help you out- whether it's on one of 4 shooting ranges, or if you are browsing firearms and equipment in their retail area. They will help you do anything from sighting in your new rifle, to helping you select a firearm that is RIGHT for you. They honestly want you to get something that is right for YOU and not just for the sake of making a sale. I am very glad I became a member!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank The~PuRa~VIdA~
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Shooting Academy also viewed

 

Been to Colonial Shooting Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing