We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Richmond
from $51.94
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
263
72
10
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
263
72
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews patrick henry re enactment declaration of independence gave his famous speech patriotic music founding fathers american history gift shop period costume stained glass our tour guide historic place buried here piece of history love history visiting richmond visitor center
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 350 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2016

The reenactment of Patrick Henry's speech and preceding discussion/arguments was superb and made history REAL. Would definitely recommend this to all, probably over the head of young children but interesting for older teens and adults.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

It was amazing to be sitting in a building....a church...that had such impact on American History! First of all the church is well over 200 years old....that would make it important for me to visit in the first place. The cemetery was incredibly old and interesting. The reenactment that we stumbled upon....reenacting Patrick Henry's famous speech "Give me liberty or give me death" was superb!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Mfclingan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2016

if you are in Richmond, you have to go to St. John's. The reenactments are wonderful. It give you chills to hear the speeches and to have history come to life. The tour of the church is very informative. If you have time, attend a service- especially lovely at night.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank MickyO100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic reenactment of what went on that day when Patrick Henry gave his speech. Generally reenactments are done on Sundays & well worth the six bucks. Recommend sitting in the balcony so u can fully comprehend the various historical persons at the time & hear them.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016

Anyone with the least amount of interest in US history must visit St. John's. I'm sure the weekend reenactments are wonderful, but we visited on a Monday morning and thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about the history of the parish. Made for a very emotional visit for my daughter and I. Had the chance to talk to some parishioners too which was nice.

Parking is easy on the street for anyone questioning this.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews