We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go on Sunday to see Patrick Henry and Friends!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. John's Episcopal Church

St. John's Episcopal Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Richmond's History and Food of Shockoe Bottom and Church Hill
Ranked #12 of 167 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go on Sunday to see Patrick Henry and Friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

On Sundays at 2pm they hold a re-enactment of the 2nd Virginia Convention, where Patrick Henry gave his famous "Give me Liberty or Give me Death!" speech. But you need to be there before 1:30 to hear the patriotic music, or you won't get a seat. It's worth it if you're a history geek like me. http://www.historicstjohnschurch.org/hist_reenactments.php

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KdeBz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    60
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The interior of the sanctuary is well worth the time to look in. Many Stained glass Tiffany windows. Church was attended by RE Lee and J Davis. Beautiful organ in the loft. I would love to be a regular member of this church if I lived in Richmond.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jibbajibba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
612 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Patrick Henry Comes Alive at St. Johns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

On Sundays they have a sold out crowd watching the historic re-enactment of the famous speech from Hannover delegate Patrick Henry known as the Liberty or Death Speech. Great actors, vivid moments and pleasant grounds. Donation only.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went to visit the church on a Sunday afternoon and saw a re-enactment of the meeting of the Virginia assembly where Patrick Henry gave his famous speech "Give me Liberty or give me Death". It was as if it was really happening. The actors were great. This is the actual church that it happened in so many years ago. Was so nice to be standing where people like George Washington and Patrick Henry stood. Worth seeing

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelRN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

It was thrilling to visit the place where George Washington and other Colonial leaders sat to hear Patrick Henry gave his speech. Check their website for details as they have re-enactments.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GalfromSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John's Episcopal Church also viewed

 

Been to St. John's Episcopal Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing