We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Hollywood Cemetery
from $34.00
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
Reviews (1,287)
Filter reviews
1,274 results
Traveler rating
901
315
50
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
901
315
50
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buried here confederate soldiers jefferson davis james river blue line final resting place holly trees past presidents guided walking tour burial site rolling hills park like setting historical figures valentine museum lots of history view of the river history buff
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,274 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

I wish the navigation was a bit easier, but this is the most beauitful cemetery I've ever seen. It takes a while to get to Jefferson Davis's tomb, so try not to second-guess yourself if you've missed your turn!

Lovely, please allow lots of time for this.

Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Hollywood Cemetery is located in Richmond and is a beautiful and peaceful spot.

You can drive through the cemetery or there is limited parking on side streets. I went on a Sunday afternoon and wanted to walk and had no trouble finding a spot nearby. There is no admission either way.

The walkways are paved throughout the cemetery, but it is very hilly so if you have trouble walking I would be conscious of that. Other than that, although it is quite big, it’s very easy to navigate and does have street signs throughout. I think you can get a map, but office hours are only through the week.

It really is a lovely place with lots of beautiful headstones and statues, but it is a cemetery so if that’s not your thing, you might not find it super fascinating.

It is a good way to spend a sunny afternoon though if you like to walk and enjoy some history.

Thank RosieRo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of the most scenic places to get dumped in the dirt in America. For those still above ground you can trace the history of not only Virginia, but the United States, especially the Civil War. All while enjoying great views of the Hollywood Rapids on the mighty mighty James River. Also worth a visit to stroll amongst beautifully sculpted headstones and ancient oaks and magnolias.
Perfect spot for a picnic too.

Thank PaoloStatiUniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very interesting. We used the interactive map from the website and had a great self guided tour, stopping to read about the various people buried here and their history. We drove, as it was a bit more walking then we wanted to do, but there were lots of walkers. The electric car option looked like fun, but we hadn’t booked ahead. Lots of photo opportunities. Really worth a visit. I also enjoyed reading more about the cemetery after our visit.

1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sandy was a fun tour guide. Well-informed. Entertaining. Kept a great pace and kept me interested for 90 minutes which is not easy to do!! I’m from the North, so learning the history of prominent southern families was new to me. Of course, I also enjoyed seeing the presidential burial sights. I would recommend this walking tour for the history and the beautiful river views!

1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A well marked driving tour leads you through the winding streets of the cemetery. A quick stop at the office for a map is recommended.
Many important locals are buried here along with presidents, politicians and Civil War personalities.
There are a number of interesting monuments and the diverse scenery attracts your attention.

1  Thank 934chuckp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So many picturesque grave sites from the austere to the magnificent. Civil war era graves, famous people, and ordinary people. Well landscaped with paved roads making it easy to traverse the huge cemetery. We drove around, but many were on bikes or walking. I would definitely go back to explore some more.

Thank Archiewhitehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 90 minutes wandering around this cemetery. I have been to the National Cemetery at Arlington as well as the World War II Normandy Cemetery and the Civil War section of the Hollywood Cemetery had the same effect on me. Not as orderly, or as groomed but equally moving. Cemetery is large and even with a map one can easily get disorientated. Civil War section is only a small part of this large cemetery. Don't let the name confuse you - it is named after the Holly trees on the site!

Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great, two hour walking tour of Hollywood Cemetery, organized by the Valentine Museum. Excellent guide. The cemetery has a wonderful and complex history, it is a lovely stroll, and it has some of the very best views of the James and of downtown Richmond. Do it! You can usually just show up at 10:00 am to be on the tour-- but always best to double check schedules on the web.

1  Thank FromRichmondVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After decades of living in Virginia, visited Hollywood Cemetery. It did not disappoint.

Besides being the burial place of 2 Presidents, there are a number of notable people buried here. And just the sights of all the different gravestones is fascinating.

What was an expected treat was the picturesque views of the James River from the cemetery grounds. Truly worth lots of photographs.

Thank Motaniso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews