We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating - don't miss it”
Review of Agecroft Hall

Agecroft Hall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Agecroft Hall is an authentic 16th century English manor house. It was was taken apart,shipped across the Atlantic, and reassembled in Virginia in the 1920s. Today Agecoft Hall is open for tours, special events, educational programs, and is home of The Richmond Shakespeare Festival.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fascinating - don't miss it”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I visit and tour old houses/mansions every chance we get. We found Agecroft Hall to be particularly interesting due to the fact that it was originally built in England, dismantled, transported across the ocean, and reassembled here. The history lesson that comes along with the tour is a bonus. If you have the time, be sure to visit the home.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FDSJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    67
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a tour !”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is worth the trip if you find transplanted English manor houses interesting. The house is so impressive, as are the gardens. We had one of the most thorough tours we can remember at Agecroft. It's like you're in a different world.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PJZimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love Agecroft”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Visit in the spring when the tulips are blooming. It will not disappoint you. Very nice grounds for walking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ANTHONY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
537 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Beautiful "OLD" Estate tour in Richmond, Va”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were looking for what to do on a rainy day in this city and found online several museums and there was Agecroft; one amazing English tudor manor house that was totally taken down in England and moved to Richmond in 1925; It's enormous and beautiful and so full of history
from over 1,000 years ago when it was built in Lancashire.........the tour was a delightful Christmas tour which takes a different direction BUT I plan to return in Spring to see and walk the gorgeous outdoor gardens and walks; all over looks our JAMES River.......a MUST see in Richmond

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannette y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Romantic charm”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This 18th century residence is something that needs to be seen. I have been here twice and both times I have learned something new. The movie and tour guides are very informative. The gardens are beautiful. The interior amazing for the time it was constructed and the history of how it landed in Richmond is jaw dropping. It makes for a wonderful day to get away and be carried back to days gone by. Plus the good luck cat is a must see. Go and take your kids. They'll have fun while learning something. :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agecroft Hall also viewed

 

Been to Agecroft Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing